NBA Coach of the Year Odds: Thunder Boss Preseason Favorite

Mike Brown became the first unanimous NBA Coach of the Year winner last season, but he's nowhere to be found among this year's preseason odds favorites — led by OKC's Mark Daigneault.

Last Updated: Sep 27, 2023 3:45 PM ET Read Time: 4 min
Mark Daigneault NBA Coach of the Year odds
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Sacramento's Mike Brown took the NBA Coach of the Year odds by storm last year, leading a revival that saw the Kings end their eons-long playoff drought by winning the Pacific Division. 

This season, the NBA odds tell a different story, as Brown (+2,500) would become the first coach ever to repeat as COY winner were he to win this award — largely predicated on exceeding expectations or overcoming unexpected adversity — again. 

Instead, there's a new wave of contenders atop the odds board, with a leap-ready squad's coach sitting as the favorite. 

Let's take a look at the upcoming season's NBA Coach of the Year odds, and which contenders could be exceeding expectations. 

Odds to win NBA Coach of the Year  

Coach Team DraftKings
Mark Daigneault Browns Oklahoma City Thunder +650
Adrian Griffin Bucks Milwaukee Bucks +700
Erik Spoelstra Heat Miami Heat +800
Joe Mazzulla Browns Boston Celtics +850
Michael Malone Browns Denver Nuggets +900
Nick Nurse Browns Philadelphia 76ers +1,000
Frank Vogel Suns Phoenix Suns +1,300
Taylor Jenkins Browns Memphis Grizzlies +1,400
JB Bickerstaff Browns Cleveland Cavaliers +1,600
Quin Snyder Hawks Atlanta Hawks +1,800

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook, September 27, 2023.     

Latest NBA Coach of the Year award odds update

9/27/2023: This market had been dormant for weeks, but Wednesday's blockbuster trade landed Damian Lillard in Milwaukee, spiking rookie head coach Adrian Griffin to second choice at +700, up from +1,200.

While Griffin's job just got a whole lot easier with arguably the greatest inside-out offensive combo in NBA history at this disposal, expectations will now be sky-high, and this award isn't kind to rookie head coaches, as one hasn't won COY in 23 years. 

Understanding NBA Coach of the Year odds 

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. We'll use 2019-20's Rookie of the Year race as an example: 

As the season progressed, with Ja Morant having been a huge favorite, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number: 

  • Ja Morant -500

This means that a bettor needs to wager $500 to win $100. Other candidates with worse odds would have a plus (+) sign ahead of the number. Early in the season, before any clear favorite is established, betting options will be listed as such: 

  • Zion Williamson +650

Here, a bettor stands to profit $650 for every $100 wagered. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

Best NBA futures bonuses

BetMGM New Users
Get up to $1,500 bonus bets back if your first bet doesn’t win! Claim Now

Caesars New Users
Get up to $1,000 in bonus bets if your first bet doesn't win! Claim Now

Eligible USA locations only. Also, see our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2023.
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER

NBA Coach of the Year trends

  • Mike Brown's 2023 victory was the first time in 10 years (excluding COVID-altered schedules  — 2019-20, 2020-21) the Coach of the Year's team hadn't won 55+ games.

  • Four coaches (Mike Budenholzer, Gregg Popovich, Tom Thibodeau, Mike Brown) have won COY multiple times since 2009.

  • No rookie head coach has won Coach of the Year since Doc Rivers (2000).

  • Dating back to the award's inception in 1963, no coach has ever won COY in back-to-back seasons.

NBA Coach of the Year history

Year NBA Coach of the Year Winner Team
2022-23 Mike Brown Sacramento Kings
2021-22 Monty Williams  Phoenix Suns
2020-21 Tom Thibodeau  New York Knicks
2019-20 Nick Nurse  Toronto Raptors
2018-19 Mike Budenholzer Milwaukee Bucks
2017-18 Dwane Casey Toronto Raptors
2016-17 Mike D'Antoni  Houston Rockets
2015-16 Steve Kerr  Golden State Warriors
2014-15 Mike Budenholzer  Atlanta Hawks
2013-14 Gregg Popovich  San Antonio Spurs
2012-13 George Karl  Denver Nuggets
2011-12 Gregg Popovich  San Antonio Spurs
2010-11 Tom Thibodeau  Chicago Bulls
2009-10 Scott Brooks  Oklahoma City Thunder
2008-09 Mike Brown  Cleveland Cavaliers
2007-08 Byron Scott  New Orleans Hornets
2006-07 Sam Mitchell  Toronto Raptors
2005-06 Avery Johnson  Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Mike D'Antoni  Phoenix Suns
2003-04 Hubie Brown  Memphis Grizzlies

NBA Coach of the Year Odds FAQ

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo