NBA Defensive Player of the Year Odds: Gobert Favorite to Repeat

The NBA's DPOY odds are fresh for the 2021-22 season, with a familiar face topping the preseason board. Check out the early odds to win Defensive Player of the Year.

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2021 9:01 AM ET Read Time: 3 min
Rudy Gobert Utah Jazz NBA
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The NBA Defensive Player of the Year odds are live for the upcoming 2021-22 season after Utah Jazz center Rudy Gobert took home his third DPOY trophy earlier this year.

Gobert again leads the preseason DPOY odds. His fourth win would tie him with Ben Wallace and Dikembe Mutombo as the most decorated defenders in the award's 40-year history.

Let's take a look at the full board and see who stands below Gobert's ominous wingspan with the best NBA DPOY odds.  

Odds to win NBA Defensive Player of the Year

Player Odds to win DPOY
Rudy Gobert +340
Ben Simmons +350
Anthony Davis +700
Myles Turner +700
Joel Embiid +900
Giannis Antetokounmpo +1,000
Bam Adebayo +1,400
Matisse Thybulle +2,000
Draymond Green +2,000
Jrue Holiday +2,000
Clint Capela +3,500
Mitchell Robinson +3,500
Paul George +3,500
Marcus Smart +4,000
Deandre Ayton +4,000
Dejounte Murray +5,000
Jimmy Butler +5,000
Jarrett Allen +5,000
Luguentz Dort +5,500
Karl-Anthony Towns +6,000
Jonathan Isaac +6,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook as of October 16, 2021.

Favorite to win NBA Defensive Player of the Year

Rudy Gobert is yet again the favorite atop the DPOY odds board, currently paying out +340 to capture the trophy for a record-tying fourth season. The Stifle Tower was an absolute menace protecting the paint in 2020-21 for the NBA's third-best defense. Gobert finished second in blocked shots, leading the league in defensive rebounds as well as a litany of advanced defensive metrics, including DRPM (by a completely ridiculous margin). He captured 84 of the 100 first-place votes, winning in a landslide. 

Sitting right on Gobert's tail at +350 odds is Ben Simmons, who is technically still a Philadelphia 76er, but whose offseason saga has prompted its own betting market on where he'll play next

No matter where he suits up, Simmons is arguably the NBA's premier perimeter lockdown artist, and has the size and lateral quickness to capably defend all five positions. His versatility makes him a huge asset in a wide variety of lineups, and in this race, he may also benefit from voter fatigue with Gobert having won DPOY in three of the past four seasons. 

Third on the odds board is Lakers forward Anthony Davis (+700), who contends for this award in any season he's healthy, but can't seem to break through in the minds of voters, finishing in the Top 3 of DPOY voting three times without a win. After injuries marred his 2020-21 season, he'll be looking to re-assert himself among the best players in the NBA. And with his usage rate sure to take a hit with Russell Westbrook's arrival, The Brow may have even more energy to channel on defense.

Tied with Davis at +700 is Pacers center Myles Turner, who led the league in blocks by a significant margin last year (3.4 to Gobert's second-place 2.7). Turner has slowly evolved into an elite rim protector as his awareness and positioning have caught up with his athleticism and defensive motor. At 25, he may still have upside to yield on that end as his experience and confidence grow. 

And rounding out the Top 5 is Simmons' soon-to-be-ex teammate Joel Embiid (+900), a two-way beast of a center who can be the league's biggest game-changer on D when fully engaged. But unlike most players on this board, Embiid is relied upon heavily to shoulder his team's scoring load almost night-to-night and is probably focusing on his odds to win MVP after last year's runner-up finish. 

Understanding NBA Defensive Player of the Year odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. We'll use 2019-20's Rookie of the Year race as an example: 

As the season progressed, with Ja Morant having been a huge favorite, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number: 

  • Ja Morant -500

This means that a bettor needs to wager $500 to win $100. Other candidates with worse odds would have a plus (+) sign ahead of the number. Early in the season, before any clear favorite is established, betting options will be listed as such: 

  • Zion Williamson +650

Here, a bettor stands to profit $650 for every $100 wagered.

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

NBA Defensive Player of the Year history

Year NBA DPOY winner
2019-20 Giannis Antetokounmpo
2018-19 Rudy Gobert
2017-18 Rudy Gobert
2016-17 Draymond Green
2015-16 Kawhi Leonard
2014-15 Kawhi Leonard
2013-14 Joakim Noah
2012-13 Marc Gasol
2011-12 Tyson Chandler
2010-11 Dwight Howard
2009-10 Dwight Howard
2008-09 Dwight Howard
2007-08 Kevin Garnett
2006-07 Marcus Camby
2005-06 Ben Wallace
2004-05 Ben Wallace
2003-04 Ron Artest
2002-03 Ben Wallace
2001-02 Ben Wallace
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo

Where can I bet on NBA Defensive Player of the Year odds?

You may have to shop around for NBA futures odds on who will win Defensive Player of the Year. As a bit more of a niche market, it may not be offered by all sportsbooks. Check out our best sportsbooks available for the most trusted books in your area. 

Popular Content

Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo