2022 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds: Hutchinson Early Favorite

No. 2 overall pick Aidan Hutchinson is the early favorite to win Defensive Rookie of the Year at +450. Check out who else is on the board in our NFL DROY odds update following the 2022 NFL Draft.

Last Updated: May 24, 2022 1:53 PM ET Read Time: 4 min
Aidan Hutchinson Detroit Lions NFL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Odds for 2022 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year betting are already here following the NFL Draft.

We're only a day away from the announcement of this season's regular-season schedule and edge rusher Aidan Hutchinson is atop the board in early DROY odds.

Find out who follows him with our updated NFL Defensive ROY odds.  

2022 NFL Defensive ROY odds

Player Odds
Aidan Hutchinson +450
Kayvon Thibodeaux +500
Travon Walker +600
Kyle Hamilton +800
Devin Lloyd +800
Jermaine Johnson II +800
Quay Walker +800
Derek Stingley Jr. +1,000
Sauce Gardner +1,000
Nakobe Dean +1,200
Jordan Davis +1,400
Trent McDuffie +1,600
George Karlaftis +1,600
Kaiir Elam +1,800
Andrew Booth Jr. +2,200
Devonte Wyatt +2,200
Drake Jackson +3,000
Kyler Gordon +3,000
Daxton Hill +3,500
Lewis Cine +3,500
Jalen Pitre +4,000
Roger McCreary +4,000
Leo Chenal +4,000
Boye Mafe +4,500
Arnold Ebiketie +4,500
Christian Harris +5,000
Jaquan Brisker +5,000
Brian Asamoah +5,000
Chad Muma +5,000
Sam Williams +5,000
DeMarvin Leal +6,500
Nik Bonitto +6,500
Logan Hall +6,500
Travis Jones +6,500
Cameron Thomas +6,500
Brandon Smith +8,000
Myjai Sanders +8,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook, as of May 24, 2022.

NFL Defensive ROY Favorites

Aidan Hutchinson (+450)

After spending a fair bit of the pre-draft process as the betting favorite to go first, former Michigan pass rusher Aidan Hutchinson got to stay home as he was the No. 2 pick to the Detroit Lions. Now the headliner on Dan Campbell's defense, Hutchinson will remain among the DPOY favorites if his strong production for the Wolverines translates from Ann Arbour to Detroit. 

Kayvon Thibodeaux (+500)

One of the more polarizing prospects at the top of the draft, Oregon pass rusher Kayvon Thibodeaux found himself taken in the Top 5 and going to New York, as the newest Giant. With an awe-inspiring get-off and a magnetic personality, instant production would lead to instant stardom for the former Duck as he now finds himself in the New York market. 

Travon Walker (+600)

The first overall pick slots into third on the odds board, as the Jaguars' latest top pick is less likely to accumulate eye-catching stats as Hutchinson or Thibodeaux. That being said, Jacksonville GM Trent Baalke has had success taking a swing on a tweener (if there is such a thing in the modern NFL) before, with Aldon Smith recording 14 sacks as a rookie in 2011. Walker will get plenty of attention as the first overall pick — will production follow?

NFL Defensive ROY betting trends

• Of the last 32 winners of the NFL DROY Award, an incredible 29 were drafted in the first round. Of the three winners that weren't first-rounders (DeMeco Ryans, Kendrell Bell and Darius Leonard), all were still selected within the Top-40 picks.

• Seven of the last 16 DROY winners played linebacker. Two others (Von Miller and Shawne Merriman) were listed at LB but would count as edge players in modern NFL defensive schemes. That said, that number is heavily inflated by four straight DROY-winning linebackers from 2006 to 2009. Over the last eight years, only two LB's have taken home the award. 

• Four of the last six DROY winners played college ball for Ohio State. Three of those (the Bosa brothers and Chase Young) were edge rushers. 

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL DROY winners since 2004, the position they played and where they were drafted.

Year NFL DROY Award Winner Position Drafted
2021  Micah Parsons LB Round 1, pick 12
2020 Chase Young EDGE Round 1, pick 2
2019 Nick Bosa EDGE Round 1, pick 2
2018 Darius Leonard LB Round 2, pick 36
2017 Marshon Lattimore CB Round 1, pick 11
2016 Joey Bosa EDGE Round 1, pick 3
2015 Marcus Peters CB Round 1, pick 18
2014 Aaron Donald DL Round 1, pick 13
2013 Sheldon Richardson DL Round 1, pick 13
2012 Luke Keuchly LB Round 1, pick 9
2011 Von Miller EDGE Round 1, pick 2
2010 Ndamukong Suh DL Round 1, pick 2
2009 Brian Cushing LB Round 1, pick 15
2008 Jerod Mayo LB Round 1, pick 10
2007 Patrick Willis LB Round 1, pick 11
2006 DeMeco Ryans LB Round 2, pick 33
2005 Shawne Merriman EDGE Round 1, pick 12
2004 Jonathan Vilma LB Round 1, pick 12


Popular Content

Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo