NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award Odds: Chandler Jones Soars Up Board

The NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds board is headlined by Aaron Donald and Myles Garrett at +500. But Chandler Jones of the Arizona Cardinals has made a huge climb to become one of the NFL DPOY betting odds favorites after a monster Week 1 effort.

Posted: May 26, 2021 8:04 PM ET Updated: Sep 15, 2021 4:17 PM ET Est Time: 4 min
Chandler Jones Arizona Cardinals NFL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds have already seen a change following the first week of the football season.

Though NFL DPOY betting odds are headlined by the reigning winner looking for his fourth award, a new name has emerged in the Top 5 after a dominant Week 1 performance. 

Find out who it is with our NFL Defensive Player of the Year betting odds ahead of Week 2.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds

Player Position Odds
Aaron Donald DT +500
Myles Garrett  DE +500
TJ Watt EDGE +800
Chandler Jones EDGE +800
Chase Young DE +1,200
Devin White LB +1,600
Nick Bosa DE +1,600
Derwin James S +1,600
Joey Bosa DE +2,000
Xavien Howard CB +2,000
Darius Leonard LB +2,500
Vita Vea DT +2,800
Devin Bush LB +3,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook on September 15, 2021.

Favorite to win the NFL Defensive Player of the Year award

Aaron Donald took home the third Defensive Player of the Year award of his Hall of Fame career after a 2020 season that saw him notch 13.5 sacks on a superb Rams defense. Donald is one of the greatest defensive players in league history still at the height of his powers and rightfully is favored (+500) to retain his award for 2021. He got his 2021 season off to a good start, recording a sack as the Rams' defensive unit contained the Bears in a 34-14 win.

Tied with Donald is Browns pass rusher Myles Garrett, who could have won the award in 2019 if his season was not cut short due to a suspension, while his 2020 season was derailed by a battle with COVID-19. One of the freakiest athletes in the league on a talented Cleveland defense, Garrett could easily win the honor with an eye-popping statistical season, which he also started off with a sack in his first game.

Slotting into the third spot on the odds board is Steelers linebacker TJ Watt, who had a monster first game after signing a massive four-year, $112 million contract extension. The brother of multiple-time winner JJ Watt, Pittsburgh's star pass rusher very well could have won the award in 2020 after leading the league in sacks and tackles for loss. He started 2021 showing why he'll be right in the mix again this season, recording two sacks and a forced fumble in Pittsburgh's upset win over Buffalo.

Also at +800 is the Cardinals' Chandler Jones, who dominated in his first game of the season, going off for a whopping five sacks, two forced fumbles, and six tackles in Arizona's blowout over the Titans. He was at +2,800 ahead of Week 1 and made the largest jump on the board.

Second-year Washington pass rusher Chase Young, who won the Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2020, rounds out the Top 5 at +1,200.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year Betting Trends

• Since this award was first given out in 1974, seven defensive players have claimed this award more than once. However, no defensive back has ever won it multiple times. 

• The NFL DPOY odds board is filled with pass rushers for 2021, which is little surprise given that eight of the last 10 winners of the award totaled at least 11 sacks.

• While voters for the NFL MVP Award seem to take team success into the equation, the same hasn't necessarily been true for DPOY accolades. Four of the last seven winners of the DPOY award were on defenses that ranked outside the Top-10. 

NFL Defensive Player of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL DPOY winners since 2000 and the position they played.

Year NFL DROY Award Winner Position
2020 Aaron Donald DT
2019 Stephon Gilmore CB
2018 Aaron Donald DT
2017 Aaron Donald DT
2016 Khalil Mack Edge
2015 J.J. Watt DE
2014 J.J. Watt DE
2013 Luke Keuchly LB
2012 J.J. Watt DE
2011 Terrell Suggs  Edge
2010 Troy Polamalu S
2009 Charles Woodson DB
2008 James Harrison Edge
2007 Bob Sanders S
2006 Jason Taylor Edge
2005 Brian Urlacher LB
2004 Ed Reed S
2003 Ray Lewis LB
2002 Derrick Brooks LB
2001 Michael Strahan DE
2000 Ray Lewis LB

Where can I bet on NFL awards?

Most online books and casinos offer futures bets on NFL awards and odds generally begin to appear after free agency and the NFL Draft. Check out the NFL futures odds at the best sportsbooks available in your area.

Popular Content

Covers Contests Icon

Free Contests

Test your handicapping skills for a chance to win over $200,000 in prizes
Play free contests
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo