2023 MLB Cy Young Odds: Blake Snell Walks Like a Man

Blake Snell has issued walks at a higher clip than literally everybody, but it hasn't damaged his bottom line. He has the best ERA in baseball and is storming toward his second career Cy Young (first in the NL).

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2023 3:13 PM ET Read Time: 7 min
Blake Snell San Diego Padres MLB
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

MLB futures markets for Cy Young have finally stabilized.

It looks like Gerrit Cole and Blake Snell have established themselves as the frontrunners with less than two weeks to go but there's still time for a surprise or two.

Get the full breakdown of the current MLB odds for who will be crowned the best pitchers in the AL and NL this year with the latest odds to win the 2023 Cy Young Awards.

Odds to win AL Cy Young award

Player DraftKings FanDuel bet365
YankeesGerrit Cole -1,800 -2,200 -2,000
MarinersLuis Castillo  +1,100 +1,200 +1,200
TwinsSonny Gray +5,000 +2,500 +2,500
Blue JaysKevin Gausman +6,000 +25,000 +10,000
AstrosFramber Valdez +7,500 +15,000 +5,000
MarinersGeorge Kirby  +20,000 OTB +15,000
Twins Pablo Lopez  +20,000 +25,000 +25,000

Odds as of September 19, 2023. Odds off book as of September 25.

AL Cy Young odds analysis

9/25/2023: The AL Cy Young race was moving in Gerrit Cole's direction for a good, long while. Yes, there remained doubt because of pitchers who had stronger underlying numbers in some categories, but Cole's overall body of work was increasingly giving him the edge. Then, he went out and twirled eight phenomenal innings against the Blue Jays, allowing one run on two hits while striking out nine for his 14th win of the season.

He's one of three MLB pitchers to reach the 200-inning plateau to this point (the other two are in the NL) and has been simply rock solid, durable, and consistent. While perhaps not as dominant as he was in prior seasons, Cole has been the lone positive constant for the Yankees this season and he will get his prize.

Best MLB bonuses

DraftKings All Users
Profit boost (up to 100%) on one SGP daily! Bet Now

Caesars New Users
Get up to $1,000 in bonus bets if your first bet doesn't win! Claim Now

Eligible USA locations only. Also, see our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2023.
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER

Odds to win NL Cy Young award

Player DraftKings FanDuel bet365
Padres Blake Snell  -4,000 -6,000 -5,000
Cubs Justin Steele +1,500 +2,500 +2,000
 Braves Spencer Strider  +4,000 +6,000 +5,000
Diamondbacks Zac Gallen +10,000 +11,000 +10,000
Phillies Zack Wheeler +10,000 OTB +30,000
 Giants Logan Webb  +10,000 +10,000 +10,000
Brewers Corbin Burnes +15,000 +30,000 +30,000
Mets Kodai Senga +15,000 +10,000 +10,000

Odds as of September 19, 2023.

NL Cy Young analysis

9/25/23: Check back on Tuesday and this market, much like the AL, might be pulled entirely. Blake Snell will be making either his final or second-last start of the season on Monday night. He's pitching against a Giants team that stinks against lefties, especially ones as dominant as Snell. 

The biggest criticism of the Padres southpaw has been his propensity to issue walks. With a 13% walk rate and 5.02 BB/9, he's issuing walks more frequently than any other qualified starter. However, it could be by design. He's not serving up meatballs in the middle of the zone, electing to give one base instead of four. This has resulted in the best ERA in the majors by a mile. Barring something wild and catastrophic, Snell should take this one home.

Previous Cy Young Award winners

Here are the last 10 winners of the AL and NL Cy Young Award, with Cleveland and the New York Mets each leading the way with three. Overall, the Brooklyn/Los Angeles Dodgers have the most Cy Youngs all time (12), followed by the Milwaukee/Atlanta Braves, Philadelphia Phillies, Boston Red Sox, and Mets with seven.

Year American League Winner National League Winner
2022 Astros Justin Verlander MarlinsSandy Alcantara
2021 Blue Jays Robbie Ray Brewers Corbin Burnes
2020 Guardians Shane Bieber Reds Trevor Bauer
2019 Astros Justin Verlander Mets Jacob deGrom 
2018 Rays Blake Snell Mets Jacob deGrom
2017 Guardians Corey Kluber Nationals Max Scherzer
2016 Red Sox Rick Porcello Nationals Max Scherzer
2015 Astros Dallas Keuchel Cubs Jake Arrieta
2014 Guardians Corey Kluber Dodgers Clayton Kershaw
2013 Tigers Max Scherzer Dodgers Clayton Kershaw
2012 Rays David Price Mets R.A. Dickey

Pitchers with multiple Cy Young Awards

There are 21 pitchers who have won multiple Cy Young Awards, led by Roger Clemens' seven trophies. Of those 21 winners, five are still currently active in the Majors.

Pitcher Number of Cy Young Awards (Years)
Roger Clemens 7 (1986, 1987, 1991, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2004)
Randy Johnson 5 (1995, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002)
Steve Carlton 4 (1972, 1977, 1980, 1982
Greg Maddux 4 (1992, 1993, 1994, 1995)
Seven different pitchers 3
10 different pitchers 2

Popular MLB futures markets

Understanding Cy Young odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When Shane Bieber looked to have the AL Cy Young locked up in 2020, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number.

  • Shane Bieber -300

That means that a bettor in September had to wager $300 to win $100 by betting on Bieber. Before this year's race even began, every candidate had a (+) sign in front of their number.

  • Jacob deGrom +550

With deGrom's preseason odds, a bettor stands to profit $550 for every $100 wagered on him.

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

Google News
Stay updated with the latest picks, odds, and news! Tap the star to add us to your favorites on Google News to never miss a story.

MLB Cy Young Odds

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo