2021 NHL MVP Odds: McDavid Alone At The Top

One week into the NHL season and the MVP odds board is filled with usual suspects. Take a look at our MVP odds update to see who is chasing the stars at the top.

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2021 4:31 PM ET Read Time: 3 min
Connor McDavid Leon Draisaitl Edmonton Oilers NHL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The 2021-22 NHL season has gotten underwau, and the odds to win the Hart Trophy are heating up as a result.

The Hart Trophy odds board is stacked with usual suspects, which includes last season's winner Connor McDavid as well as Avalance center Nathan MacKinnon and Leafs superstar Auston Matthews. 

Let's take a look at the NHL MVP odds as of October 20. 

Odds to win 2021-22 NHL MVP award

Player Odds to win NHL MVP 
Connor McDavid +150
Nathan MacKinnon +650
Auston Matthews +900
Artemi Panarin +1,900
David Pastrnak +2,300
Leon Draisaitl +2,300
Alexander Ovechkin +2,900
Anze Kopitar +2,900
Jack Huges +3,400
Aleksander Barkov +3,400
Mitchell Marner +3,500
Steven Stamkos +4,000

Odds courtesy of FanDuel Sportsbook on October 20, 2021.

Favorite to win the NHL MVP award

To no surprise, two-time and reigning Hart Trophy winner McDavid is the favorite to win another MVP at +150 odds. McDavid won last year's points race by a mile, netting 105 points, which was 21 more than the runner-up — his teammate Leon Draisaitl. The most points by a non-Edmonton Oiler was Brad Marchand's 69.

McDavid had this award in the bag early, especially since the Oilers were able to get back into the playoffs after losing in the qualifying round the season before and missing out on the postseason in two straight years prior to that. He averaged 1.88 points per game, which was easily a career high, and he had more assists than any player, outside of Draisaitl, had points. He’s upped that pace, albeit through just one week, with already eight points in three contests.

Nathan MacKinnon of the Stanley Cup odds favorite Colorado Avalanche is second at +650. Injuries limited the star center to 48 games last season, but he still put up 65 points, scoring at the best point-per-game pace of his career. After testing positive for COVID-19 to start the season, MacKinnon made his season debut against the Capitals where he logged an assist. So long as he’s healthy, he'll put up tons of points and will likely be McDavid’s biggest threat to the Hart Trophy. 

Toronto Maple Leafs superstar Auston Matthews comes in third at +900. The sniper scored an NHL-best 41 goals last season and will remain a threat to win the Rocket Richard Trophy again, which will keep him high up on the odds board. Toronto winning its division again would do a lot to help his case, too, since Matthews isn't likely to put up the same point totals as McDavid or MacKinnon.

Grouped up behind the three top dogs are Artemi Panarin (+1,900) who has logged three points in four games during the first week, the Bruins winger David Pastrnak (+2,300), and McDavid’s right hand man Leon Draisaitl (+2,300). Draisaitl has raced out of the gates matching McDavid’s point total: eight points through the Oilers opening three contests.

Just below this group is Alexander Ovechkin (+2,900) who has scored four goals in three games with six points overall. Ovi passed Marcel Dionne for fifth on the all-time NHL goals leaders. He’ll need eight more to pass Brett Hull in fourth and 33 to pass Jaromir Jagr in third.  

Something to note: Nikita Kucherov, who was fourth on this list just a week ago, was placed on long-term injury reserve. He left Thursday’s game against the Capitals after an awkward collision holding his lower body and has since fell off the MVP odds board.

Understanding NHL MVP odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When the regular season is nearly finished and a consensus has emerged, you might see a player with a minus sign (-) ahead of his odds, like this:

  • Connor McDavid -400

The (-) means that McDavid is the odds-on favorite, and a bettor would need to wager $400 to win $100. Other contenders in the MVP race might have plus (+) odds to win.

  • Nathan MacKinnon +650

Here, a bettor stood to profit $650 for every $100 wagered. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

NHL Hart Trophy history

A quick look at recent NHL MVPs and the position they played.

Season Player Position Team
2020-21 Connor McDavid Center Edmonton Oilers
2019-20 Leon Draisaitl Center Edmonton Oilers
2018-19 Nikita Kucherov Right Wing Tampa Bay Lightning 
2017-18 Taylor Hall Left Wing New Jersey Devils 
2016-17 Connor McDavid Center Edmonton Oilers
2015-16 Patrick Kane Right Wing Chicago Blackhawks 
2014-15 Carey Price Goalie  Montreal Canadiens 
2013-14 Sidney Crosby Center Pittsburgh Penguins 
2012-13 Alexander Ovechkin Right Wing  Washington Capitals 
2011-12 Evgeni Malkin  Center  Pittsburgh Penguins 
2010-11 Corey Perry  Right Wing Anaheim Ducks 
2009-10 Henrik Sedin  Center  Vancouver Canucks
2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin Right Wing Washington Capitals 
2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin Right Wing Washington Capitals 
2006-07 Sidney Crosby Center Pittsburgh Penguins 
2005-06 Joe Thornton Center Boston Bruins/San Jose Sharks
2003-04 Martin St. Louis  Right Wing Tampa Bay Lightning 
2002-03 Peter Forsberg  Center Colorado Avalanche 
2001-02 Jose Theodore  Goalie Montreal Canadiens 
2000-01 Joe Sakic Center Colorado Avalanche 
1999-00 Chris Pronger Defenseman St. Louis Blues

Where can I bet on NHL MVP odds?

You can bet on NHL futures at most online and casino sportsbooks, including NHL MVP odds. Find ratings and reviews for the best hockey sportsbooks for betting on hockey futures in your area.

Popular Content

Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo