2022-23 Calder Trophy Odds: Beniers Scorching For the Kraken

The Calder Memorial Trophy race is always fun to follow as it gives us a great look at what we can expect for the future. Check out the latest Calder Trophy odds including favorite Matty Beniers.

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2022 3:07 PM ET Read Time: 4 min
Matty Beniers Seattle Kraken NHL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

In every sport, there's always excitement around the new class of rookies and what they can do to make an impact for their respective teams. Some don't pan out, but those who excel in their first year of NHL hockey get awarded the coveted Calder Memorial Trophy.

For every Nail Yakupov or Nolan Patrick, there's an Auston Matthews or Cale Makar. Who will take home the best rookie honors this season?

Let's take a look at the latest NHL odds to win the 2022-23 Calder Trophy Trophy. Be sure to also check out our NHL free picks along with our NHL player props page!

Odds to win 2022-23 Calder Trophy

Player Team Odds to win
Matty Beniers Kraken Seattle Kraken +450
Logan Thompson Golden Knights Vegas Golden Knights +600
Shane Pinto Senators Ottawa Senators +800
Owen Power Sabres Buffalo Sabres +1,200
Cole Perfetti Jets Winnipeg Jets +1,200
Mason MacTavish Ducks Anaheim Ducks +1,400
Kent Johnson Blue Jackets Columbus Blue Jackets +1,400
Stuart Skinner Oilers Edmonton Oilers +1,500
Jake Sanderson DevilsOttawa Senators +1,600
Fabian Zetterlund Devils New Jersey Devils +1,800
Matias Maccelli Coyotes Arizona Coyotes +1,800
Calen Addison Wild Minnesota Wild +2,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings on November 23, 2022.

Best NHL bonuses

Looking to do some NHL betting? Here are two of the best bonuses* available:

A) New users at FanDuel can get a no-sweat first bet of up to $1,000! Sign Up Now

B) New users at BetMGM can win $200 on a $10 bet if any team scores! Sign Up Now

*Eligible USA locations only. Also, check out our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2022.

Latest Calder Trophy odds update

11/23/2022: There has been a little bit of a shakeup atop the odds board through the first quarter of the season. Matty Beniers (+450) remains the favorite to take home the Calder, but Ottawa's Shane Pinto has moved into the Top 3. Pinto has registered eight goals in 18 games and has had his odds jump from +1,400 to +800.

11/9/2022: There has been a little bit of a shakeup atop the odds board through the first month of action. Matty Beniers remains the favorite to take home the Calder, but Logan Thompson continues his stellar play and has boosted his odds from +800 to +550. A new face has also entered the Top 3 as Buffalo's Owen Power has jumped from +1,400 to +1,200.

Understanding NHL Calder odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When the regular season is nearly finished and a consensus has emerged, you might see a player with a minus sign (-) ahead of his odds, like this:

  • Matty Beniers -400

The (-) means that Shesterkin is the odds-on favorite, and a bettor would need to wager $400 to win $100. Other contenders in the Calder race might have plus (+) odds to win.

  • Logan Thompson +650

Here, a bettor stood to profit $650 for every $100 wagered. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

NHL Calder Trophy trends

  • Only seven No. 1 overall picks have gone on to win the Calder Trophy.
  • Only 16 goaltenders have ever won the Calder Trophy, with Steve Mason being the last netminder to capture the award (2009).
  • In 1990, Sergei Makarov became the oldest player to win the Calder at 31 years old.

Calder Trophy history

A quick look at recent NHL Calder Trophy winners and the teams they played for.

Season Player Team
2021-22 Moritz Seider Detroit Red Wings
2020-21 Kirill Kaprizov Minnesota Wild
2019-20 Cale Makar Colorado Avalanche
2018-19 Elias Pettersson Vancouver Canucks
2017-18 Mathew Barzal New York islanders
2016-17 Auston Matthews Toronto Maple Leafs
2015-16 Artemi Panarin Chicago Blackhawks
2014-15 Aaron Ekblad Florida Panthers
2013-14 Nathan MacKinnon Colorado Avalanche
2012-13 Jonathan Huberdeau Florida Panthers
2011-12 Gabriel Landeskog Colorado Avalanche
2010-11 Jeff Skinner Carolina Hurricanes
2009-10 Tyler Myers Buffalo Sabres
2008-09 Steve Mason Columbus Blue Jackets
2007-08 Patrick Kane Chicago Blackhawks
2006-07 Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins
2005-06 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2003-04 Andrew Raycroft Boston Bruins
2002-03 Barret Jackman St. Louis Blues
2001-02 Dany Heatley Atlanta Thrashers
2000-01 Evgeni Nabokov San Jose Sharks
1999-00 Scott Gomez New Jersey Devils

Calder Trophy Odds FAQs

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo