Make Smarter Stanley Cup Final Wagers

The quest for Lord Stanley's Cup resumes with the return of the 2024 NHL Playoffs. Make smarter Stanley Cup Final bets with Covers!

Jared Hochman - Content Manager at
Jared Hochman • Content Manager
Apr 18, 2024 • 09:04 ET • 4 min read
The Stanley Cup. - Chris Walker/Chicago Tribune/MCT/Sipa USA
Photo By - Chris Walker/Chicago Tribune/MCT/Sipa USA

The NHL's Stanley Cup Playoffs are considered the most grueling postseason in all professional sports, and that intensity gets ramped up for the Stanley Cup Final.

Discover the latest NHL odds as well as all the key resources you need to navigate the 2024 NHL Playoffs with our helpful links and information below.

Stanley Cup odds

Stanley Cup odds are a form of NHL futures. These are long-running odds markets that release before the start of the regular season and take action over the course of the schedule, adjusting to results, betting handle, and injuries.

Conn Smythe Trophy Odds

The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded to the most valuable player during the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Sportsbooks begin offering Conn Smythe odds at the start of the playoffs, updating them as the rounds go on and teams are eliminated.

Stanley Cup Final preview and predictions

We've got comprehensive breakdowns, Stanley Cup predictions, and staff picks, plus game-by-game picks and props. You can also follow the journey of each remaining team with our Stanley Cup Playoffs bracket.

How to watch

In Canada, fans can catch Stanley Cup Final games on Sportsnet and CBC, while fans in the United States can find Stanley Cup Final action on NBC and USA channels.

Where to bet on the Stanley Cup

Hockey betting is on the rise in North America. The NHL’s popularity provides fun and unique ways to wager on hockey action all season long. Where you bet on hockey is just as important as what you bet, and Covers has reviewed the best betting sites available in your region.

How to bet on hockey

Hockey is one of the most exciting sports to bet on due to the fast-paced action and swings in momentum. And the Stanley Cup playoffs dial up the drama, with plenty of unpredictable outcomes and thrilling underdog stories. Learn how to bet on hockey and make smarter NHL bets with Covers.


The Stanley Cup Final is one of the longest-running championship events in North American sports with a rich history of memorable competition and outstanding players


The Stanley Cup is named after Lord Frederick Stanley, the 16th Earl of Derby, who donated the trophy to honor the best amateur hockey team in Canada. 

The Stanley Cup was first awarded to the winner of the Canadian Challenge Cup (1893-1914) and later used as the top prize in a championship series between the winner of the National Hockey Association and the winner of the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (1915-1926).

It wasn’t until 1927 that the National Hockey League adopted the Stanley Cup as its championship trophy.

The first Stanley Cup

The first winner of the Stanley Cup was the Montreal Hockey Club, which won the Challenge Cup in 1893. The first NHA vs. PCHA winner was the Vancouver Millionaires in 1915. The first NHL champion to hoist Lord Stanley was the Ottawa Senators in 1927. 

NHL Stanley Cup Winners from 1927-2022

Year Team
2022 Colorado Avalanche
2021 Tampa Bay Lightning
2020 Tampa Bay Lightning
2019 St. Louis Blues
2018 Washington Capitals
2017 Pittsburgh Penguins
2016 Pittsburgh Penguins
2015 Chicago Blackhawks
2014 Los Angeles Kings
2013 Chicago Blackhawks
2012 Los Angeles Kings
2011 Boston Bruins
2010 Chicago Blackhawks
2009 Pittsburgh Penguins
2008 Detroit Red Wings
2007 Anaheim Ducks
2006 Carolina Hurricanes
2005 Season canceled due to the 2004–05 NHL lockout
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 New Jersey Devils
2002 Detroit Red Wings
2001 Colorado Avalanche
2000 New Jersey Devils
1999 Dallas Stars
1998 Detroit Red Wings
1997 Detroit Red Wings
1996 Colorado Avalanche
1995 New Jersey Devils
1994 New York Rangers
1993 Montreal Canadiens
1992 Pittsburgh Penguins
1991 Pittsburgh Penguins
1990 Edmonton Oilers
1989 Calgary Flames
1988 Edmonton Oilers
1987 Edmonton Oilers
1986 Montreal Canadiens
1985 Edmonton Oilers
1984 Edmonton Oilers
1983 New York Islanders
1982 New York Islanders
1981 New York Islanders
1980 New York Islanders
1979 Montreal Canadiens
1978 Montreal Canadiens
1977 Montreal Canadiens
1976 Montreal Canadiens
1975 Philadelphia Flyers
1974 Philadelphia Flyers
1973 Montreal Canadiens
1972 Boston Bruins
1971 Montreal Canadiens
1970 Boston Bruins
1969 Montreal Canadiens
1968 Montreal Canadiens
1967 Toronto Maple Leafs
1966 Montreal Canadiens
1965 Montreal Canadiens
1964 Toronto Maple Leafs
1963 Toronto Maple Leafs
1962 Toronto Maple Leafs
1961 Chicago Black Hawks
1960 Montreal Canadiens
1959 Montreal Canadiens
1958 Montreal Canadiens
1957 Montreal Canadiens
1956 Montreal Canadiens 
1955 Detroit Red Wings
1954 Detroit Red Wings
1953 Montreal Canadiens
1952 Detroit Red Wings 
1951 Toronto Maple Leafs
1950 Detroit Red Wings
1949 Toronto Maple Leafs
1948 Toronto Maple Leafs
1947 Detroit Red Wings
1946 Montreal Canadiens
1945 Toronto Maple Leafs
1944 Montreal Canadiens
1943 Detroit Red Wings
1942 Toronto Maple Leafs
1941 Boston Bruins
1940 New York Rangers
1939 Boston Bruins
1938 Chicago Black Hawks
1937 Detroit Red Wings
1936 Detroit Red Wings
1935 Montreal Maroons
1934 Chicago Black Hawks
1933 New York Rangers
1932 Toronto Maple Leafs
1931 Montreal Canadiens
1930 Montreal Canadiens
1929 Boston Bruins
1928 New York Rangers
1927 Ottawa Senators

Stanley Cup FAQs

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo