2020 Heisman Trophy Odds: Trask Takes Lead

Nov 23, 2020 |
By: Covers Staff
2020 Heisman Trophy Odds: Trask Takes Lead
As COVID-19 continues to wreak havoc on the NCAA football season, Kyle Trask has wreaked havoc on opposing defenses, and now sits as the odds-on Heisman favorite (-134).
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
As COVID-19 continues to wreak havoc on the NCAA football season, Kyle Trask has wreaked havoc on opposing defenses, and now sits as the odds-on Heisman favorite (-134).
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Heisman Trophy odds have shifted again going into Week 13 of the 2020 season, with — surprise, surprise — COVID-19 playing a major role atop the Heisman odds board. 

Once the odds-on favorite, Trevor Lawrence hasn't played in a month, and his Heisman odds have slid considerably.

Based on the NCAA games we've already seen, and the players that are still playing right now, here are the latest NCAA football odds to win the most highly-celebrated individual award in college sports: the Heisman Trophy. 

Who is the Favorite to Win the Heisman Trophy?

As usual, quarterbacks are dominating the 2020 Heisman odds going into Week 13. Ohio State's Justin Fields was late to the party, but asserted himself among the nation's top players, alongside Alabama's Mac Jones and Florida's Kyle Trask, currently the top three contenders. 

Trask has been lurking near the top of the odds board all season and has now broken through as the odds-on favorite at -134. Florida's QB has been a threat all season, powering the nation's No. 7 offense and tossing for 2,554 yards with 31 TDs and just 3 interceptions for the 6-1 Gators.

Fields (+250) has played just four games this season, due to ongoing COVID-19 delays and cancellations. He was among the preseason Heisman favorites and has completed 79.6 percent of his passes for 1,208 yards, 13 touchdowns and three picks through his first four contests for the No. 3-ranked Buckeyes.

The signal-caller for the top-ranked Crimson Tide, Jones (+300) has chucked for 2,426 passing yards, to go with 18 TDs and three interceptions for the second-highest-scoring program in the country.

Lawrence, who is the odds-on favorite to get picked first overall in the 2021 NFL Draft, was the odds-on favorite to win the Heisman prior to his positive COVID-19 test. Now he's slid to +1,200 during his prolonged absence. Lawrence has 1,833 yards and 17 TDs against just two interceptions for the Tigers.

With quarterbacks winning 17 of the last 20 Heisman Trophies, it's little surprise that the players with the best Heisman trophy odds for 2020 all tend to play under center. This includes BYU quarterback Zach Wilson, who rounds out the Top 5 at +2,000.

After Jaylen Waddle went down for the season with an injury, another of Alabama's star wideouts, Devonta Smith, is sitting seventh on the odds board at +5,000, tied with RB teammate Najee Harris as the top non-QBs.  

Keep in mind that Heisman futures odds can fluctuate wildly between different books, especially at this point in the year, so remember to always shop around for the best price on any futures bets you make. 

Here are the current betting odds for the 2020 Heisman favorites, as of November 23, 2020. 

Odds to Win 2020 Heisman Trophy

Player School Position Odds to win Heisman Trophy 
Kyle Trask Florida QB -134
Justin Fields Ohio State QB +250
Mac Jones Alabama QB +300
Trevor Lawrence Clemson QB +1,200
Zach Wilson BYU QB +2,000
Najee Harris Alabama RB +5,000
Devonta Smith Alabama WR +5,000
Ian Book Notre Dame QB +8,000
D'Eriq King Miami QB +8,000
Brock Purdy Iowa State QB +15,000
Spencer Rattler Oklahoma QB +15,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook

Understanding Heisman Trophy Odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When Joe Burrow separated from the Heisman Trophy pack towards the end of last season, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number. 

  • Joe Burrow -3,300

That meant that a bettor in early December had to wager $3,300 to win $100 by betting on Burrow. Since this year's race is in the intermediate stages, most candidates currently have a (+) sign in front of their number.

  • Mac Jones +175

Here, a bettor stands to profit $175 for every $100 wagered on Jones. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.


Heisman Trophy Betting Trends 

Here are a few trends to keep in mind before placing a bet on college football's biggest individual award. 

• Quarterbacks have dominated this award over the last 20 years with 17 Heisman winners playing under center. Only one non-skill position player has ever won this prestigious trophy (Charles Woodson in 1997) and the last wide receiver to take home the award was Desmond Howard in 1990.

• The Heisman trophy winner usually comes from a team with a shot at winning the national title. Since 2000, 13 Heisman trophy winners have played for teams that made it to the national championship game (including Reggie Bush who later had his trophy vacated for breaking NCAA rules). If you're handicapping the Heisman you might want to consider looking at which teams have the best chance of winning the title on the NCAA futures odds board. 

• Historically seniors dominated this award but even though Joe Burrow won the Heisman in 2019, he is one of only two seniors to win the Heisman in the last 13 years. Over that span, two freshmen, four sophomores, and five juniors have claimed the prize. 

Heisman Trophy History

A quick look at recent Heisman trophy winners, their schools, and the position they played.

Joe Burrow LSU 2019
Kyler Murray Oklahoma 2018
Baker Mayfield Oklahoma 2017
Lamar Jackson Louisville 2016
Derrick Henry Alabama 2015
Marcus Mariota Oregon 2014
Jameis Winston Florida State 2013
Johnny Manziel Texas A&M 2012
Robert Griffin III Baylor 2011
Cam Newton Auburn 2010
Mark Ingram JR Alabama 2009
Sam Bradford Oklahoma 2008
Tim Tebow Florida 2007
Troy Smith Ohio State 2006
Reggie Bush* USC 2005
Matt Leinart USC 2004
Jason White Oklahoma 2003
Carson Palmer USC 2002
Eric Crouch Nebraska 2001
Chris Weinke Florida State 2000

Where Can I Bet Heisman Trophy Odds?

Since the Heisman Trophy is one of the most iconic individual awards in the sporting world, most online sportsbooks and casinos offer futures bets on who will win the Heisman Trophy. Swee what college football odds are offered at the best sportsbooks available where you live.

Get the best sports betting information delivered straight to your inbox for free.
By signing up for the Covers newsletter, you agree to receive electronic communications from Covers about our products and services, as well as other content that may be of interest to you
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo