World Cup Golden Boot Award Odds: Kane Favored to Repeat

Harry Kane took home his first-ever Golden Boot award after his performance in the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Can the England striker do it again? Find out more in our breakdown of the 2022 Golden Boot odds.

Last Updated: Aug 5, 2022 4:28 PM ET Read Time: 4 min
Harry Kane England FIFA World Cup
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will begin this fall and with the field finalized, more odds have been listed as matchups have been set.

One of them is the prestigious Golden Boot Award, awarded to the top goalscorer in the tournament. 

Harry Kane took home the award in 2018, scoring six goals for England in Russia, leading his team to a fourth-place finish. Can the Tottenham star do it again — or will there be a new winner?

Find out in our full 2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Boot odds breakdown below.

2022 World Cup Golden Boot odds

Player Odds to win Golden Boot
Harry Kane (England) +700
Kylian Mbappe (France) +900
Karim Benzema (France) +1,200
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) +1,600
Lionel Messi (Argentina) +1,600
Neymar (Brazil) +2,000
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium) +2,000
Memphis (Netherlands) +2,000
Gabriel Jesus (Brazil) +2,500
Diogo Jota (Portugal) +3,300
Lautaro Martinez (Argentina) +3,300

Odds courtesy of bet365 as of August 5, 2022.

2022 Golden Boot favorites

Harry Kane (+700)

In 71 games with the Three Lions, Harry Kane has been able to score 50 goals. The 28-year-old striker is only three goals back of Wayne Rooney for the most goals in English history at 53. 

Kane scored 17 goals in the Premier League this year, after a slow start. With the way he's performing, there's no reason the London native can't break Rooney's record or match his own six goals in the 2018 World Cup that awarded him his first-ever Golden Boot.

Kylian Mbappe (+900)

Mbappe is only 23 years old but it feels like he's been around forever now. The PSG star had another marvelous year in Ligue 1, scoring 28 goals, and will be the go-to player on a France team looking to repeat as champions in November.

In the 2018 World Cup, Mbappe became the youngest French player to score in the history of the tournament and walked away with the Best Young Player Award for his total of four goals as France ended up winning it all. 

As well as Mbappe performed in 2018, he could be even better this time around. 

Karim Benzema (+1,200)

France's other forward, Karim Benzema, rounds out the Top 3 at +1,100. Benzema's long exile from the French national team ended last summer at the Euros, and since then, he's laid claim to the status of best forward in the world.

Benzema was masterful for Real Madrid, leading them to the La Liga title and an unlikely Champions League triumph. In all likelihood, Benzema will take the Ballon d'Or as the World Cup gets underway in November. 

Recent winners of the FIFA World Cup Golden Boot

Year Golden Boot Winner Goals Scored
2018 Harry Kane (England) 6
2014 James Rodriguez (Colombia) 6
2010 Thomas Muller (Germany) 5
2006 Miroslav Klose (Germany) 5
2002 Ronaldo (Brazil) 8
1998 Davor Suker (Croatia) 6
1994 Oleg Salenko (Russia) / Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) 6
1990 Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) 6

2022 World Cup Golden Boot FAQs

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo