NFL Rookie of the Year Odds 2024: Future is Bright in the Space City

Following the Texans sweeping both OROY and DROY honors, which crop of rookies are expected to make the biggest mark next season?

Feb 16, 2024 • 12:24 ET • 4 min read
C.J. Stroud Houston Texans NFL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

This past season saw C.J. Stroud and Will Anderson Jr. steal the show both Offensive Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year, as the Houston Texans climbed back onto the island of relevancy.

With the Texans' future molded for years to come, which rookies from the upcoming draft class will shine brightest in the upcoming NFL odds? Read more in our latest NFL Rookie of the Year Odds update. 

Best NFL bonuses

FanDuel New Users
Wager $5 on any market
Get $200 if it wins! Claim Now

BetMGM New Users
Bet $5 on any market
Get $150 in bonus bets! Claim Now

Eligible USA locations only. Also, see our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2024.
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER

ROY favorites

Check back later when the 2024 NFL Draft concludes!

• Of the last 20 winners of the NFL OROY Award, 17 were drafted in the first round.

• While quarterback is an extremely difficult position to excel at as a rookie, 10 of the last 20 OROY winners played the position, including four QBs that were selected first overall in the draft.

• Running backs have won four of the last 10 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Awards. However, in recent years when top rookie RBs have gone head-to-head against top QBs for OROY honors, they've often come out on the losing end. Ezekiel Elliot led the NFL in rushing in 2016 but lost the OROY to his teammate Dak Prescott, while Kyler Murray took home the hardware over Josh Jacobs in 2019.

• No offensive lineman has ever won the award despite recent linemen like Joe Thomas, Matt Kalil, Jack Conklin, Ryan Ramcyzk and Quenton Nelson all making the Pro Bowl in their first year.

NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year history

Year NFL OROY Award Winner Position Drafted
2023 C.J. Stroud QB Round 1, pick 2
2022 Garrett Wilson WR Round 1, pick 10
2021 Ja'Marr Chase WR Round 1, pick 5
2020 Justin Herbert QB Round 1, pick 6
2019 Kyler Murray QB Round 1, pick 1
2018 Saquon Barkey RB Round 1, pick 2
2017 Alvin Kamara RB Round 3, pick 67
2016 Dak Prescott QB Round 4, pick 135
2015 Todd Gurley RB Round 1, pick 10
2014 Odell Beckham Jr. WR Round 1, pick 12
2013 Eddie Lacy RB Round 2, pick 61
2012 Robert Griffin III QB Round 1, pick 2
2011 Cam Newton QB Round 1, pick 1
2010 Sam Bradford QB Round 1, pick 1
2009 Percy Harvin WR Round 1, pick 22
2008 Matt Ryan QB Round 1, pick 1
2007 Adrian Peterson RB Round 1, pick 7
2006 Vince Young QB Round 1, pick 3
2005 Cadillac Williams RB Round 1, pick 5
2004 Ben Roethlisberger QB Round 1, pick 11

NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year winners by position

Position OROY winners
Running back 40
Wide receiver 11
Quarterback 11
End 4
Tight end 1

Bears legend Mike Ditka became the first — and so far only — tight end to win Offensive Rookie of the Year when he received the honor in 1961.

NFL Defensive ROY betting trends

• Of the last 34 winners of the NFL DROY Award, an incredible 31 were drafted in the first round. Of the three winners that weren't first-rounders (DeMeco Ryans, Kendrell Bell, and Darius Leonard), all were still selected within the Top-40 picks.

• Seven of the last 18 DROY winners played linebacker. Two others (Von Miller and Shawne Merriman) were listed at LB but would count as edge players in modern NFL defensive schemes. That said, that number is heavily inflated by four straight DROY-winning linebackers from 2006 to 2009. Over the last 10 years, only two LBs have taken home the award. 

• Four of the last eight DROY winners played college ball for Ohio State. Three of those (the Bosa brothers and Chase Young) were edge rushers. 

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL DROY winners since 2004, the position they played, and where they were drafted.

Year NFL DROY Award Winner Position Drafted
2023 Will Anderson Jr.  DE Round 1, pick 3
2022 Ahmad "Sauce" Gardner CB Round 1, pick 4
2021  Micah Parsons LB Round 1, pick 12
2020 Chase Young EDGE Round 1, pick 2
2019 Nick Bosa EDGE Round 1, pick 2
2018 Darius Leonard LB Round 2, pick 36
2017 Marshon Lattimore CB Round 1, pick 11
2016 Joey Bosa EDGE Round 1, pick 3
2015 Marcus Peters CB Round 1, pick 18
2014 Aaron Donald DL Round 1, pick 13
2013 Sheldon Richardson DL Round 1, pick 13
2012 Luke Keuchly LB Round 1, pick 9
2011 Von Miller EDGE Round 1, pick 2
2010 Ndamukong Suh DL Round 1, pick 2
2009 Brian Cushing LB Round 1, pick 15
2008 Jerod Mayo LB Round 1, pick 10
2007 Patrick Willis LB Round 1, pick 11
2006 DeMeco Ryans LB Round 2, pick 33
2005 Shawne Merriman EDGE Round 1, pick 12
2004 Jonathan Vilma LB Round 1, pick 12

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year winners by position

Position DROY winners
Linebacker 27
Defensive end 13
Cornerback 10
Defensive tackle 7
Safety 2

A safety hasn’t won NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year honors in over 20 years, dating back to when Mark Carrier (1990) and Erik McMillan (1988) won the award twice over a three-year span.

Google News
Stay updated with the latest picks, odds, and news! Tap the star to add us to your favorites on Google News to never miss a story.

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo