2023-24 NFL Coach of the Year Award Odds: Dan Campbell Penned as Favorite

Dan Campbell has won over the hearts of fans during his tenure as Detroit's head coach and is now on his way to guiding the Lions to clinching the NFC North for the first time since 1993. Find out more as Campbell headlines our latest COY odds.

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2023 7:38 AM ET Read Time: 4 min
Dan Campbell Detroit Lions NFL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The NFL season is in full gear, and with that comes wagering odds on the top head coach. 

The New York Giants' Brian Daboll took home COY honors in his first season as head coach last year — marking the ninth time since 2000 that a rookie HC has won the award.

Considering most head coaches never repeat as COY — plus the fact that the Giants are 4-8 — it's no surprise that Daboll isn't currently listed as one of the top favorites. With that said, here are the newly updated NFL odds to win the 2023-24 Coach of the Year. 

NFL Coach of the Year odds

Player Team FanDuel
Dan Campbell Steelers Detroit Lions +200
DeMeco Ryans Steelers Houston Texans +230
Mike McDaniel Steelers Miami Dolphins +600
Shane Steichen Colts Indianapolis Colts +700
Matt Lafleur Packers Green Bay Packers +2,000
Kyle Shanahan 49ers San Francisco 49ers +2,500
John Harbaugh Steelers Baltimore Ravens +2,500
Mike Tomlin Steelers Pittsburgh Steelers +2,500
Nick Sirianni Eagles Philadelphia Eagles +2,500
Kevin O'Connell Steelers Minnesota Vikings +3,000

Odds as of December 6, 2023.

Best NFL bonuses

BetMGM New Users
Up to $1,500 bonus bets back if your first bet doesn’t win! Sign Up Now

Caesars New Users
Bet $50 and get $250 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

Eligible USA locations only. Also, see our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2023.
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER

Favorites to win NFL Coach of the Year 

Dan Campbell (+200)

Believe it or not, there was talk about Dan Campbell getting fired by the Detroit Lions early last year following a dismal 1-6 start to the season.

However, Campbell rallied the troops and nearly saw his Lions make the postseason, falling just short of the playoffs at 9-8. It was the first time since 2017 that Detroit ended the campaign with a winning record, marking a massive step up from Campbell's first year in the Motor City when the team went just 3-13. 

HBO's Hard Knocks then raised his profile even more with his infamous speech about biting kneecaps. With Aaron Rodgers' departure from Green Bay creating a power vacuum in the NFC North, this award will be Campbell's if Detroit continues to build on its impressive 9-3 record and clinch the division for the first time since 1993. 

DeMeco Ryans (+230)

In his first season as head coach, DeMeco Ryans is now third in COY odds following the Houston Texans 7-5 record entering Week 14. 

The ex-Texans linebacker has been instrumental in revitalizing the Houston defense, while also aiding C.J. Stroud in his rookie year at quarterback. Ryans' Texans are undeniably ascending, with three consecutive seasons of achieving four wins or fewer clearly behind them and a potential playoff berth in the works.

Mike McDaniel (+600)

We all know how good Mike McDaniel's playcalling is, but his second season as Miami Dolphins HC comes down to whether or not the Phins can take the next step. Despite appearing in the playoffs with a 9-8 record in McDaniel's first season on the South Beach sidelines, Miami lost five of their final six regular season games last year.

This season, expectations are much higher... but Miami is definitely looking the part. The Dolphins are 9-3 on the year, which includes a 70-20 blowout win over Denver in Week 3.

Under McDaniel, Miami ranks first in total yards per game on offense. The Dolphins will look to continue their dominance as they're on their way to a first-place finish in the AFC East — something the franchise hasn't achieved since 2008. 

NFL Coach of the Year trends

  • There has not been a back-to-back Coach of the Year winner since 1982 and 1983 (Joe Gibbs).
  • There have been 12 multiple winners of the Coach of the Year award, with three coaches (Don Shula, Chuck Knox, Bill Belichick) winning 3+ times.
  • Only one man has won NFL Coach of the Year honors despite his team finishing below .500 in the standings that season (Jimmy Johnson in 1990). 

NFL Coach of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL COY winners since 2000.

Year NFL COY Award Winner Team
2022 Brian Daboll New York Giants
2021 Mike Vrabel Tennessee Titans
2020 Kevin Stefanski Cleveland Browns
2019 John Harbaugh Baltimore Ravens
2018 Matt Nagy Chicago Bears
2017 Sean McVay Los Angeles Rams
2016 Jason Garrett Dallas Cowboys
2015 Ron Rivera Carolina Panthers
2014 Bruce Arians Arizona Cardinals
2013 Ron Rivera Carolina Panthers
2012 Bruce Arians Indianapolis Colts
2011 Jim Harbaugh Baltimore Ravens
2010 Bill Belichick New England Patriots
2009 Marvin Lewis Cincinnati Bengals 
2008 Mike Smith Atlanta Falcons
2007 Bill Belichick New England Patriots
2006 Sean Payton New Orleans Saints
2005 Lovie Smith Chicago Bears
2004 Marty Schottenheimer San Diego Chargers
2003 Bill Belichick New England Patriots
2002 Andy Reid Philadelphia Eagles
2001 Dick Jauron Chicago Bears
2000 Jim Haslett New Orleans Saints

Google News
Stay updated with the latest picks, odds, and news! Tap the star to add us to your favorites on Google News to never miss a story.


Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo