2020 Heisman Trophy Odds: Fields remains in front

Jun 29, 2020 |
2020 Heisman Trophy Odds: Fields remains in front
Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields is the favorite for the 2020 Heisman Trophy after finishing in third place for the award in 2019.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields is the favorite for the 2020 Heisman Trophy after finishing in third place for the award in 2019.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Heisman Trophy odds are heating up for the 2020 season with the NCAA having allowed athletes to return to campuses for voluntary workouts on June 1, and a six-week mandatory meeting and practice schedule set to begin sometime in July, college football betting is looking like a strong possibility for the fall.  

We bring you the NCAA football odds to win the most highly celebrated individual award in college sports: the Heisman Trophy. 

Who is the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy?

Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields currently has the best odds to win the Heisman at +300. The Buckeyes passer finished third in last year's Heisman race after throwing for 3,272 yards with a 41:3 touchdown-to-interception ratio.

Next on the Heisman odds board is Clemson QB Trevor Lawrence  (+600) who is the odds-on favorite to get picked first overall in the 2021 NFL Draft and racked up 3,665 passing yards with 36 TDs against just eight picks in 2019. Both Fields and Lawrence are expected to be the focal point of teams that are the betting favorites to win the college football national championship as well.

With quarterbacks winning 17 of the last 20 Heisman Trophies, it's little surprise that the players with the best Heisman trophy odds for 2020 all tend to play under center. Recent transfer D'Eriq King, who left Houston to go to the University of Miami, is third on the Heisman betting board at +1,200, followed by Oklahoma State quarterback Spencer Rattler and Texas signal-caller Sam Ehlinger at +1,600.

Clemson running back Travis Etienne is the first non-quarterback on the 2020 Heisman trophy odds board at +2,500, but after Etienne there is a massive drop off to the other top non-QBs such as Chuba Hubbard (+5,000), Najee Harris and Jaylen Waddle (both at +8,000).

LSU cornerback Derek Stingley is the first defensive player at +6,000. Only one defensive player has ever won the Heisman Trophy in 85 years of the award.  

Keep in mind that Heisman futures odds can fluctuate wildly between different books, especially at this point in the year, so remember to always shop around for the best price on any futures bets you make. 

Here are the current betting odds for the 2020 Heisman favorites, as of June 29, 2020. 

Odds to win 2020 Heisman Trophy

Justin Fields Ohio State QB +300
Trevor Lawrence Clemson QB +600
D'Eriq King Miami QB +1,200
Spencer Rattler Oklahoma QB +1,600
Sam Ehlinger Texas QB +1,600
Jamie Newman Georgia QB +2,000
Kellen Mond Texas A&M QB +2,500
Mac Jones Alabama QB +2,500
Sam Howell North Carolina QB +2,500
Travis Etienne Clemson RB +2,500
Kedon Slovis USC QB +3,500
Bo Nix Notre Dame QB +4,000
Bryce Young Alabama QB +4,000
Ian Book Notre Dame QB +4,000
KJ Costello Mississippi State QB +4,000
Kyle Trask Florida QB +4,000
Myles Brennan LSU QB +4,000
Chuba Hubbard Oklahoma State RB +5,000
Spencer Sanders Oklahoma State QB +5,000
Derek Stingley LSU CB +6,000
Micale Cunningham Louisville QB +6,000
Sean Clifford Penn State QB +6,000
Tanner Morgan Minnesota QB +6,000
Adrian Martinez Nebraska QB +8,000
Davis Mills Stanford QB +8,000
Jaylen Waddle Alabama WR +8,000
John Rhys Plumlee Ole Miss QB +8,000
Najee Harris Alabama RB +8,000

Odds courtesy of FanDuel

Understanding Heisman Trophy Odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When Joe Burrow separated from the Heisman Trophy pack towards the end of last season, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number. 

  • Joe Burrow -3,300

That meant that a bettor in early December had to wager $3,300 to win $100 by betting on Burrow. Since this year's race hasn't even begun yet, every candidate currently has a (+) sign in front of their number.

  • Justin Fields +300

Here, a bettor stands to profit $300 for every $100 wagered on Fields. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.


Heisman Trophy Betting Trends 

Here are a few trends to keep in mind before placing a bet on college football's biggest individual award. 

• Quarterbacks have dominated this award over the last 20 years with 17 Heisman winners playing under center. Only one non-skill position player has ever won this prestigious trophy (Charles Woodson in 1997) and the last wide receiver to take home the award was Desmond Howard in 1990.

• The Heisman trophy winner usually comes from a team with a shot at winning the national title. Since 2000, 13 Heisman trophy winners have played for teams that made it to the national championship game (including Reggie Bush who later had his trophy vacated for breaking NCAA rules). If you're handicapping the Heisman you might want to consider looking at which teams have the best chance of winning the title on the NCAA futures odds board. 

• Historically seniors dominated this award but even though Joe Burrow won the Heisman in 2019, he is one of only two seniors to win the Heisman in the last 13 years. Over that span, two freshmen, four sophomores, and five juniors have claimed the prize. 

Heisman Trophy History

A quick look at recent Heisman trophy winners, their schools, and the position they played.

Joe Burrow LSU 2019
Kyler Murray Oklahoma 2018
Baker Mayfield Oklahoma 2017
Lamar Jackson Louisville 2016
Derrick Henry Alabama 2015
Marcus Mariota Oregon 2014
Jameis Winston Florida State 2013
Johnny Manziel Texas A&M 2012
Robert Griffin III Baylor 2011
Cam Newton Auburn 2010
Mark Ingram JR Alabama 2009
Sam Bradford Oklahoma 2008
Tim Tebow Florida 2007
Troy Smith Ohio State 2006
Reggie Bush* USC 2005
Matt Leinart USC 2004
Jason White Oklahoma 2003
Carson Palmer USC 2002
Eric Crouch Nebraska 2001
Chris Weinke Florida State 2000

Where can I bet Heisman Trophy odds

Since the Heisman Trophy is one of the most iconic individual awards in the sporting world, most online sportsbooks and casinos offer futures bets on who will win the Heisman Trophy. Swee what college football odds are offered at the best sportsbooks available where you live.

Get the best sports betting information delivered straight to your inbox for free.
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GDPR Logo Evalon Logo Evalon Logo