2024 WNBA MVP Odds: Can A'ja Wilson Already be Crowned?

A'ja Wilson is showing everyone why she's the one to beat. Her Las Vegas Aces are starting to round into form and Wilson's WNBA MVP odds have shortened to an overwhelming -550. Alyssa Thomas and Napheesa Collier are tied for a distant second.

AJ Salah - Publishing Editor/Writer at Covers.com
AJ Salah • Publishing Editor
Jul 10, 2024 • 16:10 ET • 4 min read
A'ja Wilson Las Vegas Aces WNBA
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

WNBA MVP odds continue shifting with the regular season now past its halfway point, and sportsbooks are leaning heavily towards Finals MVP A'ja Wilson. 

The future Hall-of-Famer led one of the league's superteams to the promise land again last season after closing as the regular-season MVP favorite, and anomalously finishing third on a ridiculously close final ballot.

In contrast, this year's MVP race is shaping up to be anything but close. Let's take a look at the WNBA odds to win Most Valuable Player in 2024. 

Odds to win WNBA MVP award in 2024

Player Team FanDuel
A'ja Wilson Aces Las Vegas Aces -850
Napheesa Collier Lynx Minnesota Lynx +3,500
Alyssa Thomas Sky Connecticut Sun +3,500
Breanna Stewart Liberty New York Liberty +4,000
Sabrina Ionescu Liberty New York Liberty +4,000
Jonquel Jones  Liberty New York Liberty  +8,500
Kahleah Copper Mercury Phoenix Mercury +8,500
Brittney Griner Mercury Phoenix Mercury +10,000

Odds as of 7-10-2024.

Favorites to win the 2024 WNBA MVP award

A'ja Wilson (-850)

A'ja Wilson's bid to repeat as MVP last season — and win a third overall — fell short in a controversial manner, but she got an important measure of revenge, eviscerating everything in her path en route to a second WNBA championship. 

Wilson lifted a shorthanded Las Vegas Aces squad on both sides of the ball in the Finals, fending off a New York superteam led by 2023 MVP winner Breanna Stewart.

Minus the recently-retired Candace Parker, the Aces gang's back together to go for the three-peat, and Wilson's stretching that stratosphere with here performance so far in 2024. 

Despite the Aces' sluggish start, Wilson's ridiculous 27.0/10.9/2.7 blocks line puts her Top 2 league-wide in all three categories, and her odds continue to shorten as the Aces start to find a groove, now 8-2 in their last 10 games.

We're barely halfway into the season, and this MVP race is looking like a no-contest. 

Best WNBA bonuses

DraftKings New Users
Bet $5, Get $150
Win or lose! Claim Now
See our DraftKings sportsbook review

BetMGM New Users
Get a no-sweat first bet
Up to $1,500! Claim Now
See our BetMGM sportsbook review

Eligible USA locations only. Also, see our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2024.
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER

Caitlin Clark odds to win MVP

Of course, we'd be remiss if we didn't mention Caitlin Clark odds for MVP, after she took a massive handle preseason in this market.

After the Indiana Fever made Clark the No. 1 pick in the 2024 WNBA Draft, FanDuel opened her as the eighth choice for MVP odds (+2,100) before she'd played a single WNBA game. And the bar rose even higher in the weeks that followed, with throngs of public bets pushing Clark up to third choice at +950 — bested only by Wilson and Stewart.

However, despite what by many standards would be an impressive debut for a rookie, Clark has seen her MVP stock freefall this season, currently paying +10,000 with the Fever at 9-14 and defenses going all-out to blitz her at the point of attack, limiting her ability to rain terror from long range.

Things should only get easier for Clark as she continues to navigate the pro game, but it's safe to say that all the public money coming in on her preseason was a tad optimistic. 

Odds to win WNBA Rookie of the Year in 2024

The Indiana Fever naturally made Clark the No. 1 pick in April 15's WNBA Draft, and the phenom has continued to be a heavy odds-on favorite throughout her debut, despite rival Angel Reese putting up a respectable fight. 

Player Team FanDuel
Caitlin Clark Fever Indiana Fever -600
Angel Reese Sky Chicago Sky +350
Rickea Jackson Sparks Los Angeles Sparks +25,000

Odds as of 7-10-2024.

Understanding WNBA MVP odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above.  If a player becomes a very strong favorite, their odds will be listed with a minus (-) sign ahead of the number. 

  • A'ja Wilson -110

The (-) means that Wilson is an odds-on favorite, and a bettor needs to wager $110 to win $100. Other contenders in the MVP race have plus (+) odds to win.

  • Breanna Stewart +300

Here, a bettor stands to profit $300 for a $100 wager on Stewart if she wins the award. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

WNBA MVP odds trends

Here are some trends you'll want to keep in mind when betting on WNBA MVP odds:

  • WNBA MVP has historically been a big woman's award. Diana Taurasi (2009) is the only pure guard to win since Cynthia Cooper (1997, '98).

  • Repeat winners are quite common, with eight players having won two or more MVP trophies in the award's 27-year history.

  • Seeding seems to be of increasing importance recently, with six of the past seven MVP winners being from the league's No. 1 overall seed. The lone exception's team finished second (Stewart, 2023).

WNBA MVP history

A quick look at the last 10 WNBA MVPs, their position, and the team they played for. Stewart's 2023 win joins A'ja Wilson and Elena Delle Donne as repeat winners this decade. 

Year Player Team Position
2023 Breanna Stewart LibertyNew York Forward
2022 A'ja Wilson AcesLas Vegas Forward
2021 Jonquel Jones SunConnecticut Forward
2020 A'ja Wilson AcesLas Vegas Forward
2019 Elena Delle Donne MysticsWashington Forward
2018 Breanna Stewart StormSeattle Forward
2017 Sylvia Fowles LynxMinnesota Center
2016 Nneka Ogwumike SparksLos Angeles Forward
2015 Elena Delle Donne SkyChicago Forward
2014 Maya Moore LynxMinnesota Forward

Google News
Stay updated with the latest picks, odds, and news! Tap the star to add us to your favorites on Google News to never miss a story.


Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo