2021 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year odds: No. 1 Pick Lawrence Favored

Apr 30, 2021 |
By: Covers Staff
2021 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year odds: No. 1 Pick Lawrence Favored
Trevor Lawrence became the latest quarterback to go first overall and, as expected, is now the favorite for Offensive Rookie of the Year.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
Trevor Lawrence became the latest quarterback to go first overall and, as expected, is now the favorite for Offensive Rookie of the Year.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year odds are back on the board with the NFL Draft taking place this weekend, and pro teams finally decided for this year's rookie class. Some early OROY odds are highly enticing, as even the odds-on-favorite in NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year betting has good odds. 

Though NFL OROY odds will continue to change in the lead-up to preseason, here is an early look at the full NFL Offensive ROY odds. 

2021 NFL Offensive ROY odds

Player Position Odds
Trevor Lawrence QB +270
Justin Fields QB +550
Trey Lance QB +700
Zach Wilson QB +850
Mac Jones QB +950
Kyle Pitts TE +1,300
Ja'Marr Chase WR +1,500
Travis Etienne RB +1,500
Najee Harris RB +1,600
DeVonta Smith WR +1,700
Jaylen Waddle WR +1,700
Javonte Williams RB +2,900
Rashod Bateman WR +4,500
Trey Sermon RB +5,000
Elijah Moore WR +6,000
Kadarius Toney WR +6,000
Randale Moore WR +6,000
Terrance Marshall Jr. WR +6,000
Kellen Mond QB +9,000
Kyle Trask QB +9,000
Michael Carter RB +9,000

Odds courtesy of FanDuel Sportsbook on April 30.

Favorite to win NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year

Unsurprisingly, first overall pick Trevor Lawrence opens as the favorite, with the Jacksonville Jaguars' new franchise QB coming in at +270. Lawrence is one of the most hyped prospects since the turn of the century, with perhaps just Andrew Luck seen as a more surefire pick. If Lawrence plays as expected, and the Jags have set him up well for success on offense, then it won't be a surprise to see him start shifting to minus-money early in the year. 

Also unsurprising? That the rest of the Top-5 is made up of quarterbacks, as it's traditionally a quarterback-friendly award.

New Bears passer Justin Fields comes in at +550 despite being the fourth QB taken in the first round. While Chicago has Andy Dalton and Nick Foles on the roster, it's hard to imagine either uninspiring passer, whether it's the Red Rifle or a Stone Age Pony like Foles, holding the electrifying Fields off.

Third overall pick Trey Lance comes in with the third-best odds at +700. While Lance comes into perhaps the best situation, hand-picked by 49ers head coach Kyle Shanahan, he is also the most likely to stay on the sideline the longest — provided Jimmy Garoppolo remains on the roster. 

Rounding out the Top-5 is second overall pick of the Jets, Zach Wilson (+850) and the Patriots' Mac Jones at +950. Wilson should start immediately but could struggle in a talent-poor offense, while Jones is likely to be held off by Cam Newton for at least a part of the season.

NFL Offensive ROY betting trends

• Of the last 17 winners of the NFL OROY Award, 14 were drafted in the first round.

• While quarterback is an extremely difficult position to excel at as a rookie, nine of the last 17 OROY winners played the position, including four QBs that were selected first overall in the draft.

• Running backs have won four of the last seven NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Awards. However, in recent years when top rookie RBs have gone head-to-head against top QBs for OROY honors, they've often come out on the losing end. Ezekiel Elliot led the NFL in rushing in 2016 but lost the OROY to his teammate Dak Prescott, while last year Kyler Murray took home the hardware over Josh Jacobs, who rushed for 1150 yards and 4.8 YPA in 13 games. 

• No offensive lineman has ever won the award despite recent linemen like Joe Thomas, Matt Kalil, Jack Conklin, Ryan Ramcyzk and Quenton Nelson all making the Pro Bowl in their first year. 

NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL OROY winners since 2004, the position they played and where they were drafted.

Year NFL OROY Award Winner Position Drafted
2020 Justin Herbert QB Round 1, pick 6
2019 Kyler Murray QB Round 1, pick 1
2018 Saquon Barkey RB Round 1, pick 2
2017 Alvin Kamara RB Round 3, pick 67
2016 Dak Prescott QB Round 4, pick 135
2015 Todd Gurley RB Round 1, pick 10
2014 Odell Beckham Jr. WR Round 1, pick 12
2013 Eddie Lacy RB Round 2, pick 61
2012 Robert Griffin III QB Round 1, pick 2
2011 Cam Newton QB Round 1, pick 1
2010 Sam Bradford QB Round 1, pick 1
2009 Percy Harvin WR Round 1, pick 22
2008 Matt Ryan QB Round 1, pick 1
2007 Adrian Peterson WR Round 1, pick 7
2006 Vince Young QB Round 1, pick 3
2005 Cadillac Williams RB Round 1, pick 5
2004 Ben Roethlisberger QB Round 1, pick 11

Where can I bet on NFL awards?

Most online books and casinos offer futures bets on NFL awards and odds generally begin to appear after free agency and the NFL Draft. Check out the NFL futures odds at the best sportsbooks available where you live. 

Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo