2023 Grey Cup Odds: Blue Bombers Penned as Early Favorites

Despite falling short in last season's Grey Cup, the Blue Bombers are the solo betting favorites as they return much of a similar roster from years past.

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2023 6:24 AM ET Read Time: 3 min
Zach Collaros Winnipeg Blue Bombers CFL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Last year's Grey Cup saw the Toronto Argonauts upset the Winnipeg Blue Bombers to capture their first championship since 2017, spoiling the Bombers' bid at pulling off a three-peat. 

Odds have arrived for the 2023 Grey Cup, with Winnipeg listed as the odds-on favorite at +200 as the Bombers attempt to reclaim top status in the CFL. Find out more with Week 1 of the regular season set to kick off in June. 

2023 Grey Cup odds

Favorites to win the 2023 Grey Cup

Winnipeg Blue Bombers (+200)

Mike O'Shea's club fell just short of reaching CFL immortality in 2022, as they could've been the first team to three-peat since Edmonton did so in the 1980s.

Luckily for Bombers fans, the team has brought much of the same roster back, having already extended the likes of Jackson Jeffcoat and Winston Rose — two key players that played a prominent role in Winnipeg's defense finishing first in yards allowed last year.  

Last year's MOP Zach Collaros will look to build off an incredible season in which the veteran quarterback led the league in passing yards and passing touchdowns under the tutelage of play-caller Buck Pierce. The Bombers also brought back two-time CFL West All-Star Kenny Lawler during free agency, as the veteran receiver will be a key weapon for Collaros to have at his disposal this year. 

Best CFL bonuses

Looking to bet on some CFL action? Here are two of the best bonuses* available:

A) New users at FanDuel can bet $5 and get $150 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

B) New users at DraftKings can bet $5 and get $200 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

*Eligible USA locations only. Also, check out our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2023.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats (+475)

A new era has begun in Steeltown, as the Ticats went out in November and acquired two-time MOP Bo-Levi Mitchell to be their new franchise quarterback. Mitchell will headline a revamped Hamilton offense that also added running back James Butler, wide receiver Duke Williams, and offensive lineman Joel Figueroa.

Hamilton re-signed veteran linebacker Simoni Lawrence and further beefed up their front seven by acquiring defensive linemen Ja'Gared Davis and Casey Sayles, plus linebacker Jameer Thurman. 

BC Lions (+530)

The Lions took big strides in 2022, finishing the season at 12-6 — their best W/L total since 2016. Despite QB Nathan Rourke leaving for the NFL and veteran receiver Bryan Burnham hanging up the cleats, the Lions remain a formidable roster. 

Vernon Adams will be given the full-time keys to the Leos offense and will look to build off a fairly productive 2022 campaign that saw him start eight games for B.C. and throw for 1,504 yards and six touchdowns to only one lone interception. 

Even with Burnham now retired, Adams will have many nice weapons at his disposal — including receivers Dominique Rhymes, Lucky Whitehead, and Keion Hatcher.

• Edmonton has won the most Grey Cup titles (11) during the league’s post-merger era.

• The CFL’s Most Outstanding Player has been a member of the Grey Cup-winning team just four times since 2010.

• There have been just 10 instances of a Grey Cup-winning team repeating as champions the following season.

Past Grey Cup winners

As noted above, having such a small league and lots of player movement promotes a lot of parity among the teams. Seven of the nine current CFL clubs have won a Grey Cup over the last 10 seasons.

The Toronto Argonauts have the most Grey Cup titles in league history with 17, while the Winnipeg Blue Bombers lead the CFL with 26 Grey Cup appearances.

Season Grey Cup Champion Runner-up
2022 Toronto Argonauts Winnipeg Blue Bombers
2021 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Hamilton Tiger-Cats
2020 N/A N/A
2019 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Hamilton Tiger-Cats
2018 Calgary Stampeders Ottawa Redblacks
2017 Toronto Argonauts Calgary Stampeders
2016 Ottawa Redblacks Calgary Stampeders
2015 Edmonton Eskimos Ottawa Redblacks
2014 Calgary Stampeders Hamilton Tiger-Cats
2013 Saskatchewan Roughriders Hamilton Tiger-Cats
2012 Toronto Argonauts Calgary Stampeders
2011 B.C. Lions Winnipeg Blue Bombers
2010 Montreal Alouettes Saskatchewan Roughriders

Understanding CFL futures

Sportsbooks release CFL futures odds shortly after the end of the previous football season. Picking the outright winner of the Grey Cup is one of the only other ways to wager on CFL futures. During the offseason and preseason, you'll be able to get a nice plus-money price on basically any team in the CFL as there is so much uncertainty around what will happen next year, particularly in a league with only nine teams.

CFL futures odds will usually look like this:

  • Hamilton Tiger-Cats +285

This means that on a $100 bet, you'll stand to profit $285 should Jeremiah Masoli & Co. capture their first Grey Cup title since 1999. If it's close to the end of the season or one team is simply that dominant, you might see a minus sign (-) ahead of their odds.

  • Saskatchewan Roughriders -175

This means that you would need to bet $175 to win $100 if Saskatchewan wins the Grey Cup.

Of course, futures odds are a fluid market. They can change every day based on news, injuries, suspensions, etc. And they will certainly change based around big CFL events, such as free agency or the draft.

All the odds seen above are in American format. If you find decimal format or fractional format easier to read, simply convert the odds using our simple odds converter tool.

Grey Cup Title Odds FAQs

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo