Triple Crown Odds 2022: Rich Strike Bows Out of Preakness Stakes

The Kentucky Derby winner Rich Strike bowed out of the Preakness Stakes, removing the possibility of a Triple Crown horse for 2022.

Last Updated: May 3, 2022 11:40 AM ET
Mike Smith aboard Justify (1) celebrates on the trot back after winning the 150th Belmont Stakes and the Triple Crown at Belmont Park.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The horse racing world will have to continue waiting for a potential Triple Crown champion. Rich Strike bowed out of the Preakness Stakes after winning the Kentucky Derby.

2023 Triple Crown odds

With Rich Strike out, there are no more odds for 2022. Check back next spring to see which horses are favored.

The winner of the Kentucky Derby on May 6, 2023 will need to win the Preakness Stakes on May 20, 2023 and then the Belmont Stakes on June 10, 2023. 

Justify was the last horse to win the Triple Crown in 2018. will race in the Preakness Stakes after all, despite doping allegations against the horse following his Kentucky Derby win.

Past Triple Crown winners

There have been 13 Triple Crown winners in history, with two coming since 2015.

Year Horse Trainer
2018 Justify Bob Baffert
2015 American Pharoah Bob Baffert
1978 Affirmed Laz Barrera
1977 Seattle Slew William H. Turner, Jr.
1973 Secretariat Lucien Laurin
1948 Citation Horace A. "Jimmy" Jones
1946 Assault Max Hirsch
1943 Count Fleet Don Cameron
1941 Whirlaway Ben A. Jones
1937 War Admiral Geoge Conway
1935 Omaha Jim Fitzsimmons
1930 Gallant Fox Jim Fitzsimmons
1919 Sir Barton H. Guy Bedwell

What is the Triple Crown?

For those not familiar with U.S. horse racing, the Triple Crown is the top honor awarded each year and goes to the three-year-old Thoroughbred horse who wins each of the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes.

The Triple Crown was first available to be won in 1875 but it wasn't until 1919 that it was first awarded as horse Sir Barton was able to win all three races.

The Triple Crown is usually awarded in June following the completion of the Belmont Stakes. 

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo