Three teams that haven't and will never win the Super Bowl

Jan 16, 2010 |
Three teams that haven't and will never win the Super Bowl

As this year’s NFL campaign culminates with Super Bowl XLIV, we pay homage to the teams that have never hoisted the Lombardi Trophy.

“I want to know what it's like to play in a Super Bowl and win one. My career will be great without it. But, personally, selfishly, I want to know what it feels like.”

Dan Marino was never able to experience that feeling of exultation, and many teams appear to be cursed as well.

Since it’s inception in 1967, a total of 15 NFL franchises have never won the Super Bowl.

Vince Lombardi Trophy (Getty).

The Cardinals, Saints, Vikings and Chargers are among those teams to never capture a world championship, but all four have a chance to do it this season.

Philadelphia and Cincinnati are also members of this title-less football faction, but both will have to wait another year after bowing out in the first round of the playoffs.

The Bungalow Bills appeared in four straight Super Bowls, but were stonewalled each time. The Titans and Oilers attempted to win the big one in two different cities, but came up a Kevin Dyson arm length short.

The unfortunate list rounds out with the Carolina Panthers, Atlanta Falcons, Seattle Seahawks, Cleveland Browns, Jacksonville Jaguars, Houston Texans and Detroit Lions.

Of course many of these franchises will eventually reach the pinnacle of professional football, but some just aren’t destined to achieve greatness. Derived from a completely unscientific computation, the below trio of teams will never win a Super Bowl.

Detroit Lions

It’s unfortunate that the best running back in the history of the NFL never won a Super Bowl.

But Barry Sanders was Aslan among a band of cowardly Lions.

Let’s run through the list of prolific quarterbacks that complemented Sanders and kept opposing defenses from stacking the box: (crickets chirping).

Now let’s go through the list of quarterbacks that did just the opposite: Rodney Peete, Bob Gagliano, Andre Ware, Erik Kramer, Scott Mitchell, Dave Krieg and Charlie Batch.

Not a household name among them and the Lions’ listless quarterbacks to succeed these aren’t any better.

If you're not old enough to remember the Great Barry Sanders, take a look at the clip below.

If Detroit Rock-bottom City couldn’t get it done with the greatest earth-scorcher to grace a football field, the Lions have no chance of ever winning a Super Bowl.

The Lions hold the second-longest title drought in history behind the Arizona Cardinals, having not won a championship since 1957. The Soviets launched Sputnik that year and Detroit has only appeared in nine playoff games since – winning one.

Hall of Famer Bobby Layne was the greatest Lions player not named Barry Sanders and upon his departure from the team in 1958 he stated that Detroit “would not win for 50 years.”

The Lions were burdened with their first winless season in 1942 when the team went 0-11, but the final year of “The Curse of Bobby Layne” was 2008 and the quarterback saved his worst voodoo for last as Detroit became the first team to go 0-16. The Lions remain in the midst of a 20-game road losing streak.

Layne may have not just cast his spell over the Lions, but beyond to the city of Detroit and the state of Michigan.

Detroit is the Mecca of the American automotive industry, but has fallen on meager times during the past decade.

Amidst the country’s current economic crisis, corporations such as

Desktop View: Switch to Mobile View