Messages

Forum Index : Pro Golf : Messages
Author: [Pro Golf] Topic: Ruling for Louie
benhogan76
RSI Wagerline RSI Rating
send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
benhogan76
Participation Meter
Veteran
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 3619
Location: Ontario
#1
Posted: 9/3/2012 2:58:15 PM
This is the thing I hate about golf a ton of stupid rules, they dont find his ball and yet he can take a drop because of a virtual certainty that it went in?  If it isnt found how are they certain? 
quote
Bluefin send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
Bluefin
Participation Meter
Captain
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 8056
Location: Florida
#2
Posted: 9/4/2012 6:20:57 AM
I agree this ruling left me scratching my head as well.
quote
blairaj send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
blairaj
Participation Meter
Rookie
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 969
Location:
#3
Posted: 9/4/2012 1:30:08 PM

It was marked red as a hazard, same as if you see it go in a pond, you don't have to swim to the bottom to find your ball and identify it to take a drop where it entered the hazard.

Had it just been woods, not marked as a hazard, then he would not have had that option.

quote
Bluefin send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
Bluefin
Participation Meter
Captain
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 8056
Location: Florida
#4
Posted: 9/4/2012 3:02:18 PM
Ball bounced on the path and entered an area that was searchable as noted by the tree climb we have all seen this in the past were the player was required to take stroke and distance in the same circumstance.
quote
Bluefin send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
Bluefin
Participation Meter
Captain
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 8056
Location: Florida
#5
Posted: 9/4/2012 3:03:39 PM
Plus it took him 14 minutes to hit the next shot so obviously there was some question as to how to rule.. 
quote
blairaj send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
blairaj
Participation Meter
Rookie
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 969
Location:
#6
Posted: 9/4/2012 3:44:22 PM

26-1.c  is the applicable ruling here

 

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard
It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or
b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or
c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

quote
NoWorries21 send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
NoWorries21
Participation Meter
Captain
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7432
Location: Texas
#7
Posted: 9/4/2012 6:26:45 PM
Came down to agreement of competitors. They said with certainty it entered the hazard. Thats all it takes
quote
Forum Index : Pro Golf : Messages
You have entered the forum as a GUEST. 
You must login/register to post or reply.