NASCAR betting: Coke Zero 400 preview

Jul 4, 2013 |
NASCAR betting: Coke Zero 400 preview
Matt Kenseth is the favorite for the second go-round at Daytona.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
Matt Kenseth is the favorite for the second go-round at Daytona.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads back to Daytona International Speedway this week for the Coke Zero 400.

A driver has taken the checkered flag at both races (Daytona 500 and Coke Zero 400) in the same season just four times. Jimmie Johnson won the Daytona 500 earlier this year.

Here’s our betting preview:

Favorite: Matt Kenseth (10-1)

Kenseth is a two-time winner at DIS, but he’s never won the summer race. He also has six top-fives and 13 top-10s in 27 career starts at Daytona.

Live dog: Jamie McMurray (27-1)

McMurray also has two Daytona victories (2010 spring race and this race in 2007). He’s coming off a runner-up finish last week and always races well at this track.

Long shot: Kurt Busch (39-2)

Busch has two straight top-10s and four in his last six Cup races. He finished sixth at Kentucky and has 10 top-fives and 12 top-10s in 25 career starts at Daytona.

Key stat: Seven different drivers have prevailed in the last seven events at Daytona International Speedway.

Notable quotable:

"Hopefully, we can carry the momentum of a strong run and a second-place finish at Kentucky to Daytona. Daytona is usually a race that is about being lucky and staying out of trouble to be in contention at the end. Our team has been strong here in the past, and I expect we will be the same this weekend. But we will need to have some luck fall our way to bring home good finish." Jamie McMurray on racing Daytona

Odds to win the Coke Zero 400 courtesy of 5Dimes:

Matt Kenseth 10-1
Kevin Harvick 13-1
Jimmie Johnson 13-'
Tony Stewart 13-1
Kyle Busch 13-1
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 13-1
Jeff Gordon 16-1
Kasey Kahne 16-1
Clint Bowyer 16-1
Brad Keselowski 39-2
Carl Edwards 39-2
Kurt Busch 39-2
Denny Hamlin 22-1
Martin Truex Jr. 22-1
Greg Biffle 22-1
Jeff Burton 27-1
Joey Logano 27-1
Jamie McMurray 27-1
Ryan Newman 33-1
Juan Montoya 33-1
Michael Waltrip 33-1
Marcos Ambrose 45-1
Paul Menard 45-1
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 45-1

Desktop View: Switch to Mobile View