Inside the mind of a sports “investor”

Participants:
Views: 549

Veteran
Participation Meter
Posted: #1

I have been wagering on sports off and on for roughly 30 years. I have paid a hefty sum for many lessons learned. Unfortunately, many lessons were learned over and over. I have certainly lost more than I’ve won over the years by a long shot. About 10 years ago I learned some forms of money management that I experimented with that kind of turned my fortunes from losing to at least having a chance IF I could keep my patience and not become greedy which has proven mostly impossible for any sustained period of time. Somewhere within the last 10 years my nerves have eroded. I feel pressure with any bet larger than 1% of my working bankroll. I have actually won quite a bit more than I have lost for the last 5 years. Maybe it’s been luck or maybe being older, more patient, and less risky with the bankroll is the reason. Both I’m sure. Im not a good capper because I don’t really have time to be. I make my decisions based in on a multitude of criteria. I live in the Bible Belt where this is largely considered taboo still so I only have two friends that I even talk about this stuff with. One, who has gambled with me since we were teens and the other who just follows what I do for smaller stakes because it’s fun. I had a very big baseball season last year where I won a large sum of money. I lost about half of it during the first 2 weeks of football and then quit until the NFL playoffs started where is started dabbling and built up a head of steam and made a large play on the Super Bowl. I have been on a heater starting with that Super Bowl play and have won a large sum again from then until now. I don’t really know where this blog like post is going or how long it will last, but I thought it would be fun to come on here and put my daily thoughts out there until I lose my current bankroll or just get tired of doing it. I think the main reason for this is that I know the peo