Messages

Forum Index : Rugby : Messages Page 10 of 10 «  6 7 8 9 10  
Author: [Rugby] Topic: Game III - In game
Rostos send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
Rostos
Participation Meter
Hall of Fame
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 26693
Location: Australia
#226
Posted: 7/5/2012 11:31:06 PM
QUOTE Originally Posted by Jive_Turkey:


You need to brush up on the rules, the obstruction call now only applies if a decoy runner physically impedes or interferes with a defender

Hang on.....hang on, hang on.....

So, if a ball player runs behind another one of his players, and the defender makes the wrong decision and tackles the decoy while the ball runner runs behind this player - play on?

When you say physically impedes...are you saying......

If the decoy takes out the defender by physically impeding him, then that is penalty...

What if the defender makes a bad decision and tackles the decoy on suspicion, play on?

 

quote
rod_steel send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook | My Sportsbook: Pinnacle Sports |
rod_steel
Participation Meter
Legend
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 92077
Location: United States
#227
Posted: 7/5/2012 11:38:04 PM
Can NSW play Farah at hooker and halfback

Then maybe they have some creativity in the halves
quote
Jive_Turkey
RSI Wagerline RSI Rating
send a private message View Space | Friends | Playbook | My Sportsbook: Pinnacle Sports |
Jive_Turkey
Participation Meter
Captain
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 7370
Location: Australia
#228
Posted: 7/6/2012 12:03:17 AM
QUOTE Originally Posted by Rostos:

Hang on.....hang on, hang on.....

So, if a ball player runs behind another one of his players, and the defender makes the wrong decision and tackles the decoy while the ball runner runs behind this player - play on?

When you say physically impedes...are you saying......

If the decoy takes out the defender by physically impeding him, then that is penalty...

What if the defender makes a bad decision and tackles the decoy on suspicion, play on?

 


It's a bit open to interpretation from the refs / video ref but basically yes, if a defender makes a bad read on a odecoy runner and goes out of HIS way to make a tackle then it's all good. It's only really when a decoy runner charges through and takes out a defender who has no intention of tackling him that an obstruction will be called. Well that's my understanding from what the various commentators say during replays of these things in games
quote
Jive_Turkey
RSI Wagerline RSI Rating
send a private message View Space | Friends | Playbook | My Sportsbook: Pinnacle Sports |
Jive_Turkey
Participation Meter
Captain
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 7370
Location: Australia
#229
Posted: 7/6/2012 12:06:12 AM
^ it's become rugby league's equivalent of the blocking foul / charge call in basketball - open to interpretation
quote
Acka send a private message View Space | Friends | Playbook |
Acka
Participation Meter
Prospect
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 148
Location:
#230
Posted: 7/6/2012 12:21:50 AM
So in which round this year did the rule change?

http://www.nrl.com/Video/2012SmartReplay/tabid/11110/Default.aspx?roundid=425&matchid=2381&videoquality=1&type=penaltyconceded&period=2&time=466


Neilson gets sucked into tackling the decoy which opened up the the huge hole...called back for a penalty.
quote
Rostos send a private message View Space | Blog | Friends | Playbook |
Rostos
Participation Meter
Hall of Fame
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 26693
Location: Australia
#231
Posted: 7/6/2012 1:55:52 AM
QUOTE Originally Posted by Jive_Turkey:


It's a bit open to interpretation from the refs / video ref but basically yes, if a defender makes a bad read on a odecoy runner and goes out of HIS way to make a tackle then it's all good. It's only really when a decoy runner charges through and takes out a defender who has no intention of tackling him that an obstruction will be called. Well that's my understanding from what the various commentators say during replays of these things in games

So, they have changed the rule, you can run behind your player (which in 99.99%) of cases is going to cause the defender to make a decision. But the defender is going to have make a decision that they should never have to make.

I agree, ON THE PASS, it is valid...but not when you run behind your own player...

This is going to end in tears.

quote
Forum Index : Rugby : Messages Page 10 of 10 «  6 7 8 9 10  
You have entered the forum as a GUEST. 
You must login/register to post or reply.