NASCAR betting: NRA 500 betting preview

Apr 11, 2013 |
NASCAR betting: NRA 500 betting preview
Carl Edwards holds the record for most wins at Texas with three.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
Carl Edwards holds the record for most wins at Texas with three.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
The Sprint Cup Series shifts to the Lone Star State Saturday for the NRA 500 from Texas Motor Speedway.

The 1.5-mile oval is lightning fast and should be even faster this season with the introduction of the Gen 6 cars.

Favorite: Jimmie Johnson (+600)

Johnson won from the pole at TMS in November, and was second in last year’s April running. He’s been second four other times in Fort Worth and won another time. Johnson has two victories this season, including the Daytona 500, as well as finishes of second and sixth in six races.

Live dog: Carl Edwards (+1,000)

Edwards holds the record for most wins at Texas with three. He swept the track’s Cup races in 2008 and also won in 2005. Edwards has one win and three top fives in the six Cup races to date.
Long shot: Mark Martin (+3,000)

Martin filled in admirably for the injured Denny Hamlin and drove his No. 11 car to a 10th-place finish at Martinsville. Martin's 15 top-10s at TMS is tops among all drivers.

Key stat: The winner at Texas has started from the pole position just two times: Kasey Kahne (April 2006) and Johnson (November 2012).

Notable quotable:

“I think Texas (Motor Speedway) is going to be a lot like Auto Club Speedway. The tires fall off quickly and the groove moves around a lot. The setups that work with fresh tires probably aren’t going to work with old worn out tires, so well have to calculate that into our adjustments. The track also has a lot of bumps that you have to drive around, kind of like the seams at Auto Club Speedway.” Paul Menard on racing at Texas Motor Speedway.

Odds to win the NRA 500 courtesy of JustBet:

Jimmie Johnson 6-1
Kyle Busch 6-1
Greg Biffle 7-1
Brad Keselowski 7-1
Carl Edwards 10-1
Jeff Gordon 12-1
Matt Kenseth 12-1
Tony Stewart 12-1
Kasey Kahne 12-1
Clint Bowyer 15-1
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 15-1
Kevin Harvick 18-1
Martin Truex Jr. 25-1
Brian Vickers 25-1
Joey Logano 30-1
Mark Martin 30-1
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 50-1
Kurt Busch 50-1
Ryan Newman 60-1
Paul Menard 75-1
Jamie McMurray 75-1
Casey Mears 100-1
Danica Patrick 100-1
Jeff Burton 100-1
A.J. Allmendinger 100-1
Trevor Bayne 100-1
Juan Montoya 100-1
Marcos Ambrose 100-1
Field 50-1

Desktop View: Switch to Mobile View