Reds place eight on DL

The Cincinnati Reds will begin the 2014 season with eight players on the disabled list as the team finalized its 25-man roster on Sunday.

The lengthy 15-day disabled list includes starting right-handed starting pitcher Mat Latos, left-handed closer Aroldis Chapman and catcher Devin Mesoraco (all retroactive to March 21), and relievers Sean Marshall and Jonathan Broxton and infielder Skip Schumaker (retroactive to March 22).

Going on the 60-day DL were infielder Jack Hannahan and pitcher Brett Marshall.

In other roster moves, the Reds designated right-hander Pedro Beato for assignment and reassigned outfielder Jason Bourgeois, right-hander Jumbo Diaz, left-hander Jeff Francis, catcher Corky Miller and infielder-outfielder Kristopher Negron to Triple-A Louisville.

Reliever Trevor Bell, outfielder Roger Bernadina and infielder Ramon Santiago were added to the Reds' 40-man roster. Catcher Tucker Barnhart and reliever Curtis Partch wa recalled from Triple-A Louisville.

Chapman was struck on the head by a line drive during a spring training game this month and will be out for at least a month. Latos is expected to return sometime in April after undergoing knee surgery at the opening of spring training. Mesoraco has a strained oblique muscle.

The Reds will open the season at 4:10 p.m. ET Monday against the St. Louis Cardinals in Great American Ball Park with 12 pitchers and 13 position players on the roster.

If you have any feedback or suggestions for our Editorial Team, please contact us at Editorial

share SHARE rss RSS FEED email EMAIL print PRINT

There haven't been any comments posted on this article. Be the first to respond!

You are currently not logged in.
Login | Signup | Help
You must be logged in to post a comment.

Top Response

There have been no comments on this article. Be the first to respond!