NASCAR betting: Sprint All-Star Race preview

May 17, 2013 |
Jimmie Johnson is the defending NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Race champion.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
Jimmie Johnson is the defending NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Race champion.
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports
The field for this year's 29th NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Race will feature 22 drivers and the 90-lap race will take place at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

The race will consist of four 20-lap segments followed by a mandatory pit stop and 10-lap sprint to the finish for a lucrative $1 million prize.

: Jimmie Johnson (+500)

Johnson collected the $1 million prize for taking the checkered flag at the All-Star event last season. In the past eight All-Star Races at Charlotte, he ranks third out of 37 drivers with an average place of 6.9.

Live dog: Greg Biffle (+1,500)

Biffle has finished outside the top 10 for four consecutive races, but seems to excel in non-points races. In the past eight NASCAR Sprint Showdown races at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Biffle ranks first out of 39 drivers with an average place of 1.7.

Long shot: Mark Martin (+4,000)

Mark Martin claimed his first All Star race victory in 1998 and drove to another in 2005. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver is preparing for his 24th All-Star Race -the most of any driver. In 23 All-Star events, Martin has six top-five finishes to go along with his two victories.

Key stat: Seven times from seven different drivers has the winner of the all-star event gone on to win the 600-mile race at Charlotte the following weekend.

Notable quotable:

"It's like, 'Hey, can you make it from the balcony into the pool without hitting the pool deck?' There's one way to figure it out. You can do all the calculating you want, but you've just got to try it." – Greg Biffle on NASCAR’s decision to allow drivers to speed on pit row during practice and qualifying for the All-Star event.

Odds to win Sprint All-Star Race courtesy of JustBet:

Kyle Busch 5/1
Jimmie Johnson 5-1
Matt Kenseth 6/1
Denny Hamlin 15/2
Kasey Kahne 8/1
Carl Edwards 12/1
Brad Keselowski 12/1
Kevin Harvick 15/1
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 15/1
Greg Biffle 15/1
Jeff Gordon 15/1
Clint Bowyer 20/1
Tony Stewart 25/1
Kurt Busch 30/1
Joey Logano 30/1
Ryan Newman 40/1
Mark Martin 40/1
Field 20/1
Desktop View: Switch to Mobile View